Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Commentaries: Deuteronomy

"In this volume on Deuteronomy, Brueggemann shows the significance of the Book of Deuteronomy to the shape and substance of Israel's faith in the Old Testament. Deuteronomy gave classic articulation to the main themes characteristic of Judaism, and, derivatively, of Christianity. Brueggemann emphasizes that Deuteronomy is an expression of covenant theology, whereby YHWH and Israel are pledged to exclusive loyalty and fidelity to each other; YHWH is to assure the well-being of Israel, and Israel is to live in trust and obedience to YHWH. In examining the relationship of Israel to God, Brueggemann makes suggestions on how such covenant fidelity might be lived out by believers today." - Abingdon Press

Deuteronomy 1-11 is here presented in a groundbreaking new translation, with a comprehensive introduction and thorough commentary by world-renowned Israeli biblical scholar Moshe Weinfeld. . . . Through a beautiful translation and insightful comments in this first of two volumes on Deuteronomy, Weinfeld reinvigorates the basic laws of society with their life-giving power: the Shema ("Hear O Israel, the Lord is our God, the Lord is One"), the Great Commandment ("You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might"). These laws govern Israelite religious and communal life under God's guidance. Moshe Weinfeld is the foremost commentator on the Deuteronomist and the Deuteronomic School. He is Professor of Biblical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

"In this outstanding commentary J. G. McConville offers a theological interpretation of the Old Testament book of Deuteronomy in the context of the biblical canon. He gives due attention to historical issues where these bear on what can be known about the settings in which the text emerged. His dominant method is one that approaches Deauteronomy as a finished work.McConville argues that in the context of the ancient world Deuteronomy should be understood as the radical blueprint for the life of a people, at the same time both spiritual and political, and profoundly different from every other social, political and religious programe. The book incorporates the tension between an open-minded vision of a perfectly ordered society under God and practical provisions for dealing with the frailty and imperfections of real people. Hence, it is capable of informing our thinking about the organization of societies while maintaining a vision of the kingdom of God." - IVP Academic

"The Basic Bible Commentary covers every book of the Bible in a verse by verse format. This is a good commentary for new teachers and those who want a quick reference. Each volume is compact, based on the NRSV and NIV translations and include charts, a pronunciation guide, and a glossary."

"In this fresh commentary, Deanna A. Thompson makes this important Old Testament book come to life. Recounting God's foundational relationship with Israel, Deuteronomy is set in the form of Moses'speeches to Israel just before entry into the promised land. Its instructions in the form of God's law provide the structure of the life that God wants for the people of Israel.Although this key Old Testament book is occasionally overlooked by Christians, Deuteronomy serves as an essential passing down to the next generations the fundamentals of faith as well as the parameters of life lived in accord with God's promises. Thompson provides theological perspectives on these vital themes and shows how they have lasting significance for Christians living in today's world. Thompson's sensitivity to the Jewish context and heritage and her insights into Deuteronomy's importance for Christian communities make this commentary an especially valuable resource for today's preacher and teacher." - WJK Press

"Deuteronomy summarizes the Torah and casts its long influence on the rest of the canon. Telford Work insightfully guides the reader through this important book and displays its significance to today's community of faith. I particularly appreciate his commitment to the text, unwilling to explain away some of its more difficult features. I recommend this not only to clergy and students, but also to biblical scholars who will benefit from the perspective of a theologian who is grounded in the Bible."--Tremper Longman III

"First published five hundred years ago as the “Rabbinic Bible,” the biblical commentaries known as Miqra’ot Gedolot have inspired and educated generations of Hebrew readers. With this fourth volume of the acclaimed English edition, the voices of Rashi, Ibn Ezra, Nachmanides, Rashbam, and other medieval Bible commentators come alive once more, speaking in a contemporary English translation annotated and explicated for lay readers. Each page of this volume contains several verses from the book of Deuteronomy, surrounded by both the 1917 and the 1985 JPS translations and by new contemporary English translations of the major commentators. This edition also includes introductory material, a glossary of terms, a list of names used in the text, notes on source texts, essays on special topics, and resources for further study." - JPS Press

"Based on the original twelve-volume set that has become a staple in college and seminary libraries and pastors’ studies worldwide, this revised edition of The Expositor's Bible Commentary series once again gathers the most current evangelical scholarship and resources. Its fifty-six contributors, thirty of whom are new, represent the best in evangelical scholarship committed to the divine inspiration, complete trustworthiness, and full authority of the Bible." - Zondervan

Part of the prestigious International Critical Commentary (ICC), this work is rather dated by very influential in the field. Most scholars will often refer to it (although sometimes only in passing). It is important as a supplementary work and should not be used alone but in conjunction with other commentaries as much of the scholarship is no longer valid.

"In this theological exposition of Deuteronomy, Patrick Miller is sensitive to the character of the book as a part of scripture that self-consciously addresses different generations. He discusses the nature and character of the law as revealed in Deuteronomy, as well as the nature of the moral life under God. The treatment of Deuteronomy in the New Testament, and customary introductory issues such as authorship and date, are dealt with in terms of their significance for interpreting and understanding Deuteronomy's character and intention." - WJK Press

The New International Biblical Commentary offers the best of contemporary scholarship in a format that both general readers and serious students can use with profit. Based on the widely used New International Version translation, the NIBC presents careful section-by-section exposition with key terms and phrases highlighted and all Hebrew transliterated. A separate section of notes at the close of each chapter provides additional textual and technical comments.

"Craigie's study on the Book of Deuteronomy is part of The New International Commentary on the Old Testament. Like its companion series on the New Testament, this commentary devotes considerable care to achieving a balance between technical information and homiletic-devotional interpretation." - Eerdmans

"This commentary on Deuteronomy, now available in a new casebound edition, meets and exceeds the high standards of the Old Testament Library series. It provides one of the most sophisticated explanations of the compositional process that produced Deuteronomy, presenting that process as a combination of large-scale redactional activity and "micro- redaction." The commentary is also attentive to the historical background of Deuteronomy's origins in the reigns of Manasseh and Josiah. The fresh translation that heads each section is followed by insightful linguistic comments that highlight Deuteronomy's famous homiletical and didactic style. The literary and rhetorical features of the final form of Deuteronomy are everywhere present, and Nelson makes a compelling presentation of their incessant claim on the reader, a claim that effectively urges the reader toward an appropriate response. What emerges most clearly from these elements of Nelson's commentary is a critical but sympathetic portrait of Deuteronomy's distinctive theology: its idealistic call for reform, its demand for the centralization of sacrifice, its demand for the eradication of rival religions, its stress on Yahweh's election of Israel and Israel's covenant duty, and its confrontation of every serious reader with a moment of existential decision." - WJK Press

This commentary on Deuteronomy meets and exceeds the high standards of the Old Testament Library series. It provides one of the most sophisticated explanations to date of the compositional process that produced Deuteronomy, presenting that process as a combination of large-scale redactional activity and "micro-redaction." The commentary is also attentive to the historical background of Deuteronomy's origins in the reigns of Manasseh and Josiah. The fresh translation that heads each section is followed by insightful linguistic comments that highlight Deuteronomy's famous homiletical and didactic style. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.

"The Texts @ Contexts series gathers scholarly voices from diverse contexts and social locations to bring new or unfamiliar facets of biblical texts to light. Exodus and Deuteronomy focuses attention on two books of the Torah that share themes of journey and of diverse experiences in or upon the land; the echoes of the exodus across time, space, and culture; of different understandings of (male and female) leadership; and of the promise, and problem, posed by various aspects of biblical law. These essays de-center the often homogeneous first-world orientation of much biblical scholarship and open up new possibilities for discovery." - Augsburg Fortress Press

"A dramatic address delivered on the verge of Israel's entry into the land of Canaan, Deuteronomy has been described as a book "on the boundary." Ted Woods expounds its all-encompassing vision and shows how the Israelites were exhorted to make its words the interpreter of their life's story within the land "beyond the Jordan."This completely new volume replaces the previous editon of Deuteronomy in the Tyndale Commentary series written by J. A. Thompson." - InterVarsity Press

"The Understanding the Bible Commentary Series helps any reader navigate the strange and sometimes intimidating literary terrain of the Bible. These accessible volumes break down the barriers between the ancient and modern worlds so that the power and meaning of the biblical texts become transparent to contemporary readers. The contributors tackle the task of interpretation using the full range of critical methodologies and practices, yet they do so as people of faith who hold the text in the highest regard. Pastors, teachers, and lay people alike will cherish the easily understandable truth found in this commentary series." - BakerBooks

THIS LINK GIVES ACCESS TO VOLS. 1 & 2
The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence. The result is judicious and balanced insight into the meanings of the text in the framework of biblical theology. These widely acclaimed commentaries serve as exceptional resources for the professional theologian and instructor, the seminary or university student, the working minister, and everyone concerned with building theological understanding from a solid base of biblical scholarship.

"Many today find the Old Testament a closed book. The cultural issues seem insurmountable and we are easily baffled by that which seems obscure. Furthermore, without knowledge of the ancient culture we can easily impose our own culture on the text, potentially distorting it. This series invites you to enter the Old Testament with a company of guides, experts that will give new insights into these cherished writings. Features include • Over 2000 photographs, drawings, maps, diagrams and charts provide a visual feast that breathes fresh life into the text. • Passage-by-passage commentary presents archaeological findings, historical explanations, geographic insights, notes on manners and customs, and more. • Analysis into the literature of the ancient Near East will open your eyes to new depths of understanding both familiar and unfamiliar passages." - Zondervan