Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religious Education: Welcome
This brief LibGuide is intended to help students better understand the intersection of religion and education. Provided below are links to valuable websites, databases, academic journals, and eBooks that will provide a starting point for research and serve as a jumping off point for further study.
As always, these are only some of the many resources available. Please use the search bar above to access the full catalog.
Databases & Online Resources
1000s of articles on various subjects. Because of this it is important to narrow your search terms.
ProQuest PYSCH Databases
This database is ProQuest's PSYCH collection that provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Pew Research Center (Religious & Public Life)
"The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world."
The Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion
"The Wabash Center supports theology and religion faculty and doctoral students reflecting on their teaching practice — in both theological education and undergraduate education, in North America. We facilitate faculty conversations about the goals and processes of teaching and student learning. Our programming develops faculty skills for critical reflection on teaching practice."
The Craft of Teaching in the Academic Study of Religion
"The Craft of Teaching in the Academic Study of Religion is the University of Chicago Divinity School’s program of pedagogical and professional development in the field of religious studies. This blog is authored by our Craft of Teaching Bloggers in Virtual Residence, distinguished Divinity-School-trained educators invited to advance conversation on religious studies pedagogy among our CoT community and other teachers in the field."
TED Talks - Eduction
How do we reinvent education? These TED Talks explore the latest thinking — from teachers, parents, kids — on how to build a better school.
Journal of Religious Leadership
"The Journal of Religious Leadership is published semi-annually by the Academy of Religious Leadership (ARL). As a peer-reviewed journal, the editorial team assesses articles by four criteria: scholarship (in an effort to promote faithful critical thinking about religious leadership), theological (as ARL is focused on religious leadership, matters of faith and practice are instrumental), expansive (the work of ARL seeks to extend and deepen both religion and leadership), and suggestive (work suggests outcomes, practices, behaviors, implications, etc. for readers to incorporate in their contexts)."
British Journal of Religious Education
"Promotes research which contributes to our understanding of the relationship between religion and education in all phases of formal and non-formal educational settings. BJRE publishes articles which are national, international and transnational in scope from researchers working in any discipline whose work informs debate in religious education. Topics might include religious education policy curriculum and pedagogy, research on religion and young people, or the influence of religion(s) and non-religious worldviews upon the educational process as a whole."
Journal of Adult Theological Education
"Promotes dialogue among those involved in adult theological education, whether aimed at the laity or ministry. Its perspective is both international and ecumenical. Its contribution to this field is both theoretical and practical and we encourage original research. The journal welcomes articles and book reviews or proposals for themed issues on specific aspects of the field."
Journal of Childhood and Religion
"The Journal of Childhood and Religion, a peer-reviewed online journal, provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars representing a wide range of research fields, interests, and perspectives that relate to children and religion. Such fields may include but are not limited to religious studies, biblical studies, the range of human sciences, pastoral psychology, practical theology, pastoral theology, religious education, psychology of religion, sociology of religion, counseling psychology, social work, and cultural studies."
Journal of Research on Christian Education
"provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools. The purposes of the JRCE are (1) to stimulate inquiry among scholars of Christian education on topics of common interest, (2) to serve as a clearinghouse for the organization and diffusion of emerging research on the Christian school, and (3) to communicate research findings that inform Christian educators as well as the wider society. "
"Offers an interfaith forum for exploring religious identity, formation, and education in faith communities, academic disciplines and institutions, and public life and the global community. Three forums focus on this response: Religious Education in Faith Communities, focusing on religious education in local faith communities and within and by denominational/religious bodies on regional, national, and international levels; Religious Education in Public Life and the Global Community, focusing on the role of religious education in the interest of the common good as well as stimulating inter-religious education and conversation; Religious Education in Academic Disciplines and Institutions, focusing on the advancement of scholarship in religious education through schools, colleges, universities, and graduate schools of religion."
Religion & Education
"A a journal of analysis and comment with the purpose of advancing public understanding and dialogue on issues at the intersections of religion and education. These issues emerge in various venues; manuscripts are invited from work in any such arena: public or private education at elementary, secondary, or higher education institutions; non-school or community organizations and settings; and formal or informal organizations or groups with religion or spirituality as an integral part of their work."
International Journal of Education and Religion
"Publishes studies on religiously affiliated schools, colleges and universities. It provides an international forum for scholars across different religions and continents. The journal presents empirical research and theory relevant to religious affiliated educational institutions. Each issue also contains a section of book reviews. The topics of the journal touch all levels of the educational institution: the micro-level (such as religious education, moral education, teacher ethics), the meso-level (such as identity of schools, schoolethos, admission of pupils, normative school leadership, influence of parents in the schoolboard) and the macro-level (such as state politics, law, legitimization of religiously affiliated schools, relation to the churches). Contributions in the journal span a wide range of academic disciplines, including education, pedagogy, philosophy, theology, ethics, law, sociology, and psychology."
Journal of Empirical Theology
"Offers an international forum for scholars from different religions and contexts. It presents articles on empirical research in theology and religious studies, both qualitative and quantitative. The journal contributes to reflection on empirical research methodology and research methods."
International Journal of Christianity & Education
"Aims to be the first point of reference for academic discussions of the relationship between Christianity and educational theory and practice in formal and informal settings. It will publish high quality articles across a wide range of educational contexts, including but not limited to primary, secondary, and tertiary educational institutions."
Theory into Practice
"Covers multiple perspectives and scholarly, yet practical and engaging, discussions of important issues in education. Publishes articles covering all levels and areas of education, including learning and teaching; counseling; assessment; teacher education and professional development; classroom management; administration and supervision; curriculum; policy; and technology."
Pastoral Care in Education
"Is directed at all teachers, professionals, researchers and academics who are concerned with the personal, social development, education and care of all pupils across the curriculum. The journal tackles important contemporary issues such as current developments in the curriculum - citizenship, health, social and moral education; managing behaviour; whole school approaches; school structures; as well as issues of care - school exclusion, bullying and emotional development. Approaches to personal/social education; pastoral care and the counselling and care of students all come within its remit."
Journal of Research on Christian Education
" provides a vehicle for the scholarly interchange of research findings relative to every level of Christian education. Particular emphasis is given to Christian schooling within the Protestant tradition as well as to research findings from other traditions which have implications for such schools. The purposes of the JRCE are (1) to stimulate inquiry among scholars of Christian education on topics of common interest, (2) to serve as a clearinghouse for the organization and diffusion of emerging research on the Christian school, and (3) to communicate research findings that inform Christian educators as well as the wider society."
Journal of Jewish Education
"The journal provides a unique interdisciplinary forum for considering the diverse research and scholarly issues in Jewish education including curriculum and instruction, teacher preparation, Jewish identity development, history and philosophy of Jewish education, and the linkage between Jewish and general education. The journal’s scope ranges from early childhood through adult education, in any setting in which Jewish education occurs."
Does Religious Education Matter? by
"In the current climate, and in an age of increasing hostility towards religion and the study of religion, religious education is a much-debated area. Bringing together an interdisciplinary team of contributors from the USA, Britain and Ireland, and Australia, representing a variety of religious perspectives, Does Religious Education Matter? provocatively demonstrates that it is vital that religious education is presented as it ’really’ is: a valuable and rich resource that, when taught and engaged with appropriately, stimulates essential qualities for global and responsible citizenship: critical thinking, tolerance, respect, and mutual understanding." - Routedge
Religious Education and the Challenge of Pluralism (FORTHCOMING) by
"Offers a comparative analysis of religious education and state policies toward religious education in seven different countries and in the European Union as a whole. Most of the countries studied have not been presented previously in the English-speaking world. The comparative contextualization of the different cases studied here—Muslim majority, Orthodox Christian, Jewish, and secular (or laic)—is also new. The book simply and directly challenges a major question through different studies—the question of religious education acting as a vehicle for civic enculturation and the creation of ties of belonging and meaningful solidarity across different ethnic and religious communities in the contemporary world." - OUP
Commitment, Character, and Citizenship: Religious Education in Liberal Democracy by
"As liberal democracies include increasingly diverse and multifaceted populations, the longstanding debate about the role of the state in religious education and the place of religion in public life seems imperative now more than ever. The maintenance of religious schools and the planning of religious education curricula raise a profound challenge. Too much state supervision can be conceived as interference in religious freedom and as a confinement of the right to cultural liberty. Too little supervision can be seen as neglecting the development of the liberal values required to live and work in a democratic society and as abandoning those who within their communities wish to attain a more rigorous education for citizenship and democracy. This book draws together leading educationalists, philosophers, theologians, and social scientists to explore issues, problems, and tensions concerning religious education in a variety of international settings." - Routledge
Religious Education: A Conceptual and Interdisciplinary Approach for Secondary Level by
"The role of Religious Education in secondary schools is the subject of national and international debate. This book examines the current debates surrounding RE and puts forward a new approach to teaching the subject that is non-faith based and focused on conceptual enquiry and the development of a clear pedagogy. The book is based on the Living Difference learning model developed in Hampshire and adopted in other parts of the UK, which is sparking international discussion and provides an effective approach to implementing the new secondary curriculum." - Routledge
Rethinking Religious Education and Plurality: Issues in Diversity and Pedagogy by
"This book offers a critical view of approaches to the treatment of different religions in contemporary education, in order to devise approaches to teaching and learning, and to formulate policies and procedures that are fair and just to all.
Beginning with a contextual overview of the religious, social and cultural changes of the past fifty years, the book goes on to illuminate and assess six different responses to the challenges posed by religious plurality in schools. Conclusions are drawn from the various positions explored in this book, identifying what the character of religious education should be, how it should be taught and addressing the issues raised for policy, practice and research. " - Routledge
Global Perspectives on Spirituality and Education by
"This book brings together thinkers from around the globe and sets them the task of explaining how their research on children’s spirituality and education has been shaped by the historical, cultural, religious and political contexts of the geographic region in which they work. The book presents contributions in three sections – Europe and Israel, Australasia, and The Americas– and concludes with a chapter highlighting what is common and what is contextually unique about global approaches to spirituality and education." - Routledge
Issues in Religious Education by
"This book is designed to give students and newly qualified teachers a contextual and theoretical background to this subject, by exploring and challenging assumptions about the place of religion in education. The book is divided into the following sections: section one sets out the context for religious education in the curriculum. It looks at political, social and religious influences on legislation, particularly in faith schools, and raises questions about assessment; section two focuses on Religious Education in the classroom, exploring our understanding of religion and the concept of development in Religious Education; section three examines Religious Education as a whole-school issue, considering its relationship to literacy, citizenship, collective worship and spiritual, ethical and moral development." - Routledge
The Empirical Science of Religious Education by
"An essential resource for those practitioners and researchers who wish to access original and innovative research undertaken by way of ethnographic fieldwork, practitioner research, life-history approaches to research, psychological scales and measures, and large surveys. Particularly interested readers will be studying PGCE and masters level programmes in religious education, as well as qualified religious educators undertaking continuing professional development." - Routledge
Religious Education in the African American Tradition by
"This book is a comprehensive survey of African American Christian Religious Education (AACRE). It addresses historical, theological, and ministerial issues. Kenneth H. Hill defines concepts and explores history, considers the diverse voices that are addressing AACRE, and focuses on educational theory and practice. Religious Education in the African American Tradition considers a diversity of voices, including those of evangelical, pentecostal, liberation, and womanist African American theologians." - Chalice Press
Basics of Christian Education by
"Congregations are always struggling with what quality Christian education is and how to build and maintain it. In this concise and easy-to-use guide, Karen Tye offers practical help, addressing the vital areas that need attention when planning for and building a Christian education program. Questions and exercises at the end of each chapter help pastors, Christian educators, seminary students, and laity apply the information to their own unique setting, building on the basics to renew and transform Christian education." - Chalice Press
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions