Skip to Main Content

Deuteronomistic History:  

Historical Books of the Hebrew Bible: Welcome

The Historical Books of the Hebrew Bible include what is often referred to as the Deuteronomic History (Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1/2 Samuel, 1/2 Kings) 1/2 Chronicles, Ezra, and Nehemiah. This guide is intended to introduce students to the various academic discussions concerning these works, especially in terms of historiography, by providing digital access to important eBooks and journals articles. 

This guide does not include commentaries; those can be found in the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Commentaries Guide HERE.

These are not all of the resources available through the DTL. Please use the search bar above for further inquiries. 


Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions

Creative Commons License
Historical Books of the Hebrew Bible LibGuide by Christopher Crawford is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.