Skip to Main Content
Lutheran Studies: Welcome
The purpose of this brief LibGuide is to provide students with access to important databases, journals, reference works, and monographs dealing with Martin Luther and Lutheranism.
As with all LibGuides, this provides links to some of the many resources made available through the DTL. In order to access all of our resources, please use the search bar above.
Currents in Theology and Mission
“Currents in Theology and Mission offers theological essays and book reviews on a wide spectrum of theological literature, as well as exegetical and homiletical resources for every Sunday and major festival in the church year (the latter section is called “Preaching Helps”). Currents aims to provide resources for mission, ministry, and theological growth for pastors and other church leaders.”
Journal For Christian Theological Research
This is a publication out of Luther Seminary. The JCTR is a refereed and indexed journal in systematic and moral theology published from 1996-2007.
Journal of Lutheran Ethics
This is a free, bi-monthly online publication from the ELCA focused on living out the Lutheran tradition of addressing social issues theologically, using the resources of historical, theological, and ethical tradition, biblical interpretation, and social sciences.
This site is the online directory of Lutheran higher education. It is updated continuously, so it has the most up to date information on contacting institutions and individuals.
"This journal aims to provide a forum for the discussion of Christian faith and life on the basis of the Lutheran confession; for the application of the principles of the Lutheran Church to the changing problems of religion and society; for the fostering of world Lutheranism; and for the promotion of understanding between Lutherans and other Christians."
Past Master Full Text Humanities: Luther's Works
"The 55-volume set of Luther's Works, a monumental translation project published jointly by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House in 1957, is singular in its value to church historians, Luther scholars, and Christians. This truly exquisite offering will put the entire Luther corpus at the command of a few keystrokes and provide the reader with a Luther resource unrivaled in accessibility and convenience. Luther's Works in digital format is indispensable for studies of Luther and invaluable to theologians.
The first thirty volumes contain Luther's expositions of various biblical books, while remaining volumes include his Reformation writings and occasional pieces. The final volume of the set contains an index of quotations, proper names, and topics, and a list of corrections and changes."
Word and World
“Word & World is a quarterly journal of theology, published by the faculty of Luther Seminary, that is meant for readers who are concerned for Christian ministry in and to the world. The journal seeks to relate the word of God to the contemporary world and to relate theology to Christian ministry."
The Annotated Luther Series by Fortress Press, 1517 Media
“The volumes in the series will feature the collaborative work of over forty scholars of Luther, the Reformation, and other related disciplines…. These volumes will be an essential reference toll for students at all levels, as well as an engaging and accessible resource for pastors and interested lay leaders who want to explore and teach Luther and his writings with greater depth and clarity.” -Fortress Press
A Documentary History of Lutheranism, Volumes 1 & 2 by Eric Lund and Mark Granquist
"A collection of excerpts from Lutheran historical and theological documents presents readers with a picture of how the Lutheran movement developed in its thought and practice. Selections and introductions acquaint readers with both the enduring characteristics and changing features of this revolutionary Christian movement, always with an eye to how it affected and was experienced by ordinary people. Volume 1 covers the period from the Reformation to the rise of Pietism. Volume 2 analyzes the evolution of post-Enlightenment Lutheranism as it spreads to all the religions of the world-- Adapted from jacket" -Fortress Press
Johannes Bugenhagen: selected writings, volume 1 and volume 2 by Kurt Hendel
"Martin Luther did not reform the church by himself…. Called by some the Second Apostle to the North, Johannes Bugenhagen (1485-1558) was a pivotal figure in the organization of the Lutheran movement in northern Germany and in parts of Scandinavia. His writings and diverse reforming activity made a lasting impression on church administration, education, the care of the poor, worship, and theology.” -Augsburg Fortress
Martin Luther's Basic Theological Writings, 3rd. ed. by Timothy Lull, and William Russell
“Martin Luther’s Basic Theological Writings, a single-volume introduction to Luther’s most influential, noted, and important writings in the modern translations—including excerpts of his sermons and letters—presents Luther the theologian ‘steeped in the word of God, speaking to the whole church,’ even as it takes the reader straight to Luther the man, to his controversial Reformation insights, to his strongest convictions about God and Scripture and the life of the church, and most importantly to his theology—a still-exciting encounter with the meaning of Jesus Christ for each age.” -Augsburg Fortress
Martin Luther in Context by David M. Whitford
“Martin Luther in Context explores the world around Luther in order to make the man and the Reformation movement more understandable. Written by an international team of leading scholars, it includes over forty short, accessible essays, all specially commissioned for this volume, which reconstruct the life and world of Martin Luther. The volume also contextualizes the scholarship and reception of Luther in the popular mind.” -Cambridge University Press
Book of Harmony: Spirit and Service in the Lutheran Confessions by Martin Lohrmann
“The Reformation-era writings that make up the Lutheran Confessions remain lively resources for Christian ministry and mission today. Because each of the documents within the Book of Concord was written with a specific context and rhetorical purpose in mind, each has its own compelling story and objectives. In summary, as these texts engage us with their stories, they invite us to consider what is most important about our journeys of faith and Christian witness in today's twenty-first-century contexts.” – Fortress Press
By Heart: Conversations with Martin Luther's Small Catechism by R. Guy Erwin et al.
"Martin Luther had a way with words and an eye toward instruction as he wrote the Small Catechism. Written to awaken and affirm faith as well as provide a helpful tool for households and congregations, the Small Catechism delivers the precise and profound words that have become the heart of Lutheran teaching about the Christian faith. As you will see in the story of the Small Catechism, Luther saw firsthand how far removed the gospel was from the people's experience. So, he set about crafting a simple Q & A on the basics of God's word, aimed at bringing the Holy Spirit into the hearts of sixteenth-century readers, readers ever since, and into your heart too." -Augsburg Fortress
The Church in Act: Lutheran Liturgical Theology in Ecumenical Conversation
“The Church in Act explores the dynamics of ecclesial and liturgical theology, examining the body of Christ in action. … Together, the volume offers a robust account of the liturgical, sacramental, and spiritual practices of the church for scholars, students, pastors, and others who seek to minister in an ecumenical context with increased understanding and insight.” -Augsburg Fortress
Gift of Grace: The Future of Lutheran Theology by Niels Hendrik Gregerson
“This landmark volume, the first of two, assesses the prospects and promise of Lutheran theology at the opening of a new millennium. From four continents, the thirty noted and respected contributors not only gauge how such classic themes as grace, the cross, and justification wear today but also look to key issues of ecumenism, social justice, global religious life, and the impact of contemporary science on Christian belief.” -Fortress Press
Living by Faith: Justification and Sanctification by Oswald Bayer
"Living by faith" is much more than a general Christian precept; it is the fundamental posture of believers in a world rife with suffering and injustice. In this penetrating reflection on the meaning of "justification," Oswald Bayer shows how this key religious term provides a comprehensive horizon for discussing every aspect of Christian theology, from creation to the end times. Inspired by and interacting with Martin Luther, the great Christian thinker who grappled most intensely with the concept of justification, Bayer explores anew the full range of traditional dogmatics (sin, redemption, eschatology, and others), placing otherwise complex theological terms squarely within their proper milieu -- everyday life. In the course of his discussion, Bayer touches on such deep questions as the hidden nature of God, the hope for universal justice, the problem of evil, and -- one of the book's most engaging motifs -- Job's daring lawsuit with God." - ProQuest Ebook Central
Reading the Bible with Martin Luther: An Introductory Guide by Timothy Wengert
“Prominent Reformation historian Timothy Wengert introduces the basic components of Martin Luther’s theology of the Bible and examines Luther’s contributions to present-day biblical interpretation…. This brief but comprehensive overview is filled with insights on Luther’s theology and its significance for contemporary debates on the Bible, particularly the New Perspective on Paul.” -Baker
Transformative Lutheran Theologies: Feminist, Womanist, and Mujerista Perspectives by Mary Streufert
“This book is a systematic representation of Lutheran feminist, womanist, and mujerista theologies: systematic, in that it addresses classical loci of systematic theology; contemporary, in that it is resoundingly constructive and relevant for the contemporary church; and feminist, in that the contributors write from a feminist perspective although they reflect a variety of positions within feminist discourse.
Wittenberg Meets the World: Reimagining the Reformation at the Margins by Alberto Garcia
"Proposes creative implications of the 500-year Reformation tradition for today As the global church assesses the legacy of the Lutheran Reformation, Alberto García and John Nunes in this book reimagine central Reformational themes from black, Hispanic, and other perspectives traditionally at the margins of catholic-evangelical communities. Focusing on the central theme of justification, García and Nunes delve into three interlinked aspects of the church's life in the world--martyria (witness), diakonia (service), and koinōnia (fellowship). They argue that it is critically important and vitally enriching for the whole church, especially Eurocentric Protestant churches, to learn from the grassroots theological emphases of Christian communities in the emerging world." - ProQuest Ebook Central
Women and the Reformation by Kirsi Stjerna
“Women and the Reformation gathers historical materials and personal accounts to provide a comprehensive and accessible look at the status and contributions of women as leaders in the 16th century Protestant world.” -Wiley
Word of Life: Introducing Lutheran Hermeneutics by Timothy Wengert
“Renowned Reformation scholar Timothy J. Wengert explores the genesis of Lutheran biblical interpretation by tracing the early work of Martin Luther, Melanchthon, and other Wittenberg exegetes…. [Wengert] provides a path for students and pastors alike to plumb the depth of Lutheran hermeneutics in their preaching and teaching.” -Augsburg Fortress