Wesleyan/Methodist Studies: Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Resources

This serves as a comprehensive guide to the beliefs, organizational structure, and practices of the United Brethren in Christ Church. This handbook provides insights into the church’s foundational doctrines, worship customs, governance, and historical development. It aims to be an essential resource for church members and leaders, offering clarity on the values and practices that define the United Brethren tradition.

This book provides a thorough and factual account of the founding, growth, and development of the United Brethren in Christ Church. Drury traces the church’s origins from its roots in Pietism and revivalism in the late 18th century, detailing key figures such as founders Philip William Otterbein and Martin Boehm. The book covers theological foundations, organizational changes, and significant events, offering a comprehensive resource on the denomination’s history and its evolution leading up to its later merger with other groups.

This book provides a detailed account of the growth and influence of the United Brethren in Christ within the Virginia Conference. The book covers the church’s founding, its expansion throughout Virginia, and significant events that shaped its mission and community impact. Through historical narratives and biographical sketches, Funkhouser and Morton capture the challenges and achievements of the church in this region.

This book offers a historical survey of four distinct American Protestant groups, examining their origins, beliefs, and development over time. Tyler provides a comparative analysis of their doctrines, worship practices, and social impact, highlighting both shared values and unique characteristics

This book provides a detailed account of the women’s missionary work within the St. Joseph Branch. Covering nearly seven decades, the book traces the transition from the United Brethren in Christ’s Women’s Missionary Association to the Evangelical United Brethren’s Women’s Society of World Service. It highlights the contributions, activities, and evolving roles of women in mission work, underscoring their lasting impact on the church’s outreach efforts and community service.

Berger’s history takes a more detailed look at the doctrinal evolution and theological nuances of the church. Berger often provides more in-depth discussions on specific doctrinal controversies, internal challenges, and the cultural context that influenced the church’s development. Additionally, Berger’s style leans more toward critical analysis,

This book commemorates the legacy and milestones of the First Evangelical United Brethren Church in Naperville over 125 years. The book chronicles the church’s founding, its growth, and the significant events and individuals that shaped its community and mission. Through historical accounts and personal stories, it captures the spirit and enduring impact of this congregation on both its members and the local community.

“This is the definitive history of the Evangelical United Brethren Church. The result of many years of painstaking research, this volume presents a comprehensive account of an important American denomination that became part of United Methodism.” - Publisher

This book highlights Blinn’s journey of faith, her role in church missions, and her influence on the spiritual lives of others. Through personal stories and reflections, Smith illustrates Blinn’s dedication, compassion, and lasting impact on her community and the church at large.

“In 1968, the Methodist and Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) churches merged to form The United Methodist Church. More than forty years later, many United Methodists know very little about the history, doctrine, and polity of the EUB. To be sure, there are vestiges of the EUB, most notably the Confession of Faith, in the United Methodist Book of Discipline, but there is much more to be profitably explored. For example, the EUB represents a strand of German Pietism that developed an emphasis on the work of the Holy Spirit in the life of the church that, with the exception of Wesley, Fletcher and the early Methodists, was unparalleled in the history of Protestantism. This book makes accessible to clergy and laity alike the considerable riches of the EUB tradition with a view toward the renewal of United Methodism today.” Kingswood Books

This book chronicles the missionary activities and global outreach efforts of the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church during its final decades before merging with the Methodist Church. O’Malley examines how the EUB’s mission work evolved post-World War II, reflecting broader social changes and theological developments. The book sheds light on the church’s legacy in fostering international communities of faith and its contributions to the Methodist-EUB union.

This book detais the history of publishing within the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church over a period of 150 years; essentially documenting the church’s publishing activities throughout its existence.

This book provides a comprehensive history of the Women’s Missionary Association, detailing its formation, activities, and enduring contributions to the church’s mission efforts. Hough highlights the association’s key initiatives, leadership, and the impactful work of its members both domestically and abroad. This work underscores the significant role of women in advancing the church’s goals and promoting its values during a transformative era in the church’s history.

This book provides an in-depth look at the beliefs, values, and cultural identity of the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church. Eller explores the church’s theological foundations, spiritual practices, and the sense of community that defined its members. Through this examination, he captures the essence of the EUB tradition and its role in shaping American Protestantism prior to its merger with the Methodist Church.

This book provides a historical account of the leadership within the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church, focusing on the contributions of its nineteen bishops. The book explores each bishop’s background, spiritual journey, and the unique impact they had on the church’s growth and development. Through these profiles, Milhouse paints a picture of the EUB’s evolving identity and mission leading up to its eventual merger with the Methodist Church to form the United Methodist Church.

This book tells the story of the Santa Cruz Evangelical United Brethren Church and its role within the local community in New Mexico. Campbell explores the church’s founding, cultural significance, and the challenges it faced as part of the EUB denomination. Through this historical narrative, the book highlights the church’s mission, community impact, and contributions to the heritage of the Evangelical United Brethren in the Southwest.

This examines the rhetoric used by Dr. Paul Arthur Washburn in advocating for the union between the Evangelical United Brethren and Methodist Churches. The dissertation analyzes his persuasive strategies, language choices, and oratorical techniques to understand how he addressed challenges and rallied support for the merger. This study sheds light on the communicative efforts that facilitated one of the most significant mergers in American Protestant history.

“The essays gathered together in this book were taken from papers presented at a conference commemorating the 50th anniversary of the joining of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ and the Evangelical Church to create the EUB denomination. The papers emphasize the development of the merged church, its theology, its concept of ministry, the history of the denomination in Europe, and the mission programs of the denomination. The Making of an American Church: Essays Commemorating the Jubilee Year of the Evangelical United Brethren Church is a unique collection of papers by EUB scholars and general church officers that combines scholarly rigor with an involvement in the events they discuss.” - Rowman and Little field

This book is a collection of historical documents and writings that offer insights into the heritage, theology, and practices of the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church. The sampler highlights significant moments and influential figures within the EUB, tracing its journey and contributions to American Protestantism. Through these curated pieces, Blair provides readers with a comprehensive view of the church’s values, challenges, and eventual union with the Methodist Church.

Religion in Ohio tells the story of Ohio’s religious and spiritual heritage going back to the state’s ancient and historic native populations, and including the westward migration of settlers to this region, the development of a wide variety of faith traditions in the years preceding the mid-twentieth century, and the arrival of newer immigrants in the last fifty years, each group bringing with it cherished traditions.” “Documenting religious pluralism in Ohio and the impact faith communities have had on the state, Religion in Ohio encompasses the historical experiences of many groups. Each chapter is the story of one of those communities written by a member of that faith or denomination.” “Operating under the auspices of the Ohio Bicentennial Commission and the Interfaith Association of Central Ohio, the editors of religion in Ohio have created a unique collection of the experiences of faith groups during the two hundred years of Ohio’s statehood and the years leading up to it. The largely untold stories of religious experience in Ohio are gathered here in one volume so they may be appreciated in all their breadth and diversity.” - Publisher

“The present study illumines German Pietism as the historical context for the life and mission of the Evangelical United Brethren (EUB), in conversation with the Church of the Brethren, an earlier Pietist denomination with European roots … Several chapters of this volume focus on the influence of ecclesial as well as German radical Pietism upon these two denominations. Each of the chapters makes a distinctive contribution to understanding the influence of Pietism in this transatlantic context. The Pietists appearing in this volume represent transformative voices of spiritual and ecclesial renewal in post Reformation continental Europe.” - Foward