Wesleyan/Methodist Studies: Online Resources

The American Methodism Project is a digitized collection of interdisciplinary and historical materials related to American Methodism. The primary goal of this project is to provide both the digital tools and the digitized texts of American Methodism to better understand both Methodism and the United States. Contemporary questions of church and state boundaries, the role of government, moral development, education, leadership, labor, immigration, family, etc. are topics which can benefit from debates and reflections contained within this corpus of materials.

Bridwell Library Digital Collections are drawn from the extensive print and manuscript holdings of Special Collections and Archives. The department’s collections focus on incunabula, Bibles, the Reformation and Counter-Reformation, devotional literature, church history, theology, popular devotion and popular piety, Wesleyana and Methodistica. The Archives contain papers and images documenting the history of Perkins School of Theology, Bridwell Library, and United Methodism.

Founded in 1979, the Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition staffs, supervises, and enriches the Divinity School’s curricular and extracurricular offerings in Methodist and Wesleyan Studies and supports significant educational outreach programs designed for our Methodist constituencies. In addition, the center develops and provides access to outstanding research resources for students and scholars of the broad Wesleyan tradition around the globe.

A short guide for helping students cite works by John Wesley.

The Methodist Archives and Research Centre was established by the Methodist Church of Great Britain in 1961 to house the Connexional records of the Church. The Centre was originally located at John Wesley’s Chapel, City Road, London, but in 1977 it was transferred on deposit to the Library. MARC holds the world’s largest collection of manuscripts relating to the founders of Methodism, John and Charles Wesley and other members of the Wesley family. In all, the collection comprises approximately 5,000 letters, notebooks and associated papers of the period 1700–1865.

The Methodist Library Image Collection at Drew University includes several thousand photographs, drawings, and portraits of people, places, and events associated with global Methodist history. Images range from the 17th century to present day. More than 5,000 images from the collection have been digitized and are available online for research and reference.

Promoting historic links between Oxford Brookes University and the Methodist Church through archives, artworks, publications and research.

The foundation of the Pitts Theology Library Wesleyana Collection is the Robert Thursfield Smith collection of pamphlets, manuscripts, and first editions acquired by Bishop Warren Akin Candler in 1911 and subsequently donated to Emory University. Included in this collection are letters of John Wesley, Charles Wesley, George Whitefield, and other early Methodists. The collection also contains John Wesley's manuscript diary from Georgia and Charles Wesley's poetic paraphrase of the Psalms, a portion of which is in his handwriting.

WHDL was initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the worldwide need for access to resources for ministerial preparation, education, spiritual development, and lifelong learning.

The Wesley Center Online website is a collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan tradition, theology, Christianity, and the Church of the Nazarene.