Skip to Main Content
This database is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals publishes open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
African Journal Archive
This retrospective digitization project has been launched by Sabinet Gateway and the Carnegie Corporation. The archive fulfills to some extent the significant social and educational need in Africa and throughout the world to preserve journal literature emanating from publishers and societies on the continent.
American Center of Oriental Research (ACOR) Photo Archive
The ACOR Library holds a remarkable photographic archive related to its role in preserving and promoting the country’s heritage. The collection provides primary visual documentation of Jordan, including the major archaeological and cultural heritage projects the center has sponsored across the country over the decades. Given its broad range of content and subject matter, the ACOR Library photographic archive has the potential to be a crucial resource for American, international, and Jordanian scholars involved in cultural and natural heritage preservation and management.
American Methodist Collection
This collection of Methodist documents contains several thousand, full text, searchable digital collections of works by Methodist and about Methodism.
Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds periodical titles covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Records cover 1957 to the present.
Anthropology Commons (Ruth Fulton Benedict Papers)
Anthropology Commons is an initiative to digitize and make freely available important archival content in this field, beginning with the papers of Ruth Fulton Benedict. Benedict made significant contributions to the field of anthropology through her exploration and examination of the role of individuals in relation to larger societies and cultures.
Publishes open-access, peer-reviewed scholarly journals, covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
This database contains English translations of all of Aquinas’ works with the original Latin beside the English text. It is a comprehensive set of the complete works of Aquinas in English and Latin.
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Australian Islamic Library
One of the biggest collections of Islamic online books. Available in numerous international languages to suit Muslim readers worldwide.
Biblical Studies on the Web
The BSW Research Center includes studies and sharing of biblical theology by the BSW community, the electronic version of established biblical journals (Biblica and Filología Neotestamentaria), and a Scriptural Index of biblical commentaries on the web and index of biblical tools.
Bibliography of the Arabic Bible: A Classified and Annotated History of Scholar…
In this research tool, we seek to provide a comprehensive and fully annotated bibliography of text editions and research in the field of Arabic Bible. Historical translations of the Bible into Arabic comprise countless manuscripts and fragments from the medieval period found in monasteries throughout the Middle East and libraries across the globe, as well as early and recent prints produced in Europe and in Arabic-speaking lands. These translations were made by Jews, Christians, and Samaritans, and were also used by Muslims in their discussions with members of the other Abrahamic religions. Arabic versions of the Bible were also translated from biblical materials in many different source languages, including Hebrew, Aramaic (Jewish Aramaic and Syriac), Latin, Greek, Coptic.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies. This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present.
The Catholic News Archive
The Archive is a project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), a non-profit alliance of archives and libraries collaborating in support of the mission to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. The CRRA is supported by member and partner contributions and by a generous grant from the Catholic Communications Campaign, of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources.
The Center for Hellenic Studies
This database provides freely accessible, contemporary translations of major works from the Classical Greek world. It also provides access to hundreds of books and articles related to the Greek world. This database will be useful for students doing research into the Classical backgrounds of the New Testament.
Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition
Founded in 1979, the Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition staffs, supervises, and enriches the Divinity School’s curricular and extracurricular offerings in Methodist and Wesleyan Studies and supports significant educational outreach programs designed for United Methodist constituencies. In addition, the center develops and provides access to outstanding research resources for students and scholars of the Wesleyan tradition around the globe.
Chinese Texts Project
The curated database contains items related to Chinese Christianity. The content is English and Chinese.
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI) of the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries.
Coptic Dictionary Online
The Coptic Dictionary Online aims to make it easy to look up Coptic words in all dialects and supply freely accessible translations in English, French and German, via human and machine readable interfaces.
This unparalleled database offers a fully searchable index to the complete set of writings by Thomas Aquinas. This database allows for sophisticated advancing research of related terms and concepts. Primary source research on St. Aquinas should begin here. The database offers searching in 14 different languages, including all major European languages.
CST Audio Archive
"The CST Audio Archive preserves lectures, panel discussions, conferences, sermons, and chapel services that were recorded at CST (then the School of Theology at Claremont) from the 1960s to the 90s. Speakers include many of the school's faculty, deans, and presidents, as well as nationally and internationally prominent names in scholarship, theology, ministry, and pastoral counseling."
DICTA (Tool for Advanced Study of Hebrew Texts)
DICTA applies cutting edge machine learning and natural language processing tools to the analysis of Hebrew texts. Our objective is to remove the drudgery from the study of classical and modern Hebrew texts to allow researchers to focus on the deeper questions.
Digital Catholica Collection
This project from Villanova University plans to make available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts dealing with the Roman Catholic church in general, and in particular works created or published in the Americas. This collection is particularly helpful for the study of Catholicism in America.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Digital Vatican Library
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Discovering Sacred Texts
Discovering Sacred Texts is a new online learning resource, designed for Religious Education students and teachers as well as lifelong learners. The site allows visitors to explore the world’s major faiths through our collections of sacred texts. Our resource features content on the six most-practiced faiths in the UK – Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism – as well as a number of other faiths, including the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism. The site showcases over 270 digitised collection items, alongside articles written by academics, curators and faith leaders, film content and teachers’ resources.
E-Theses Online Service (EThOS)
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
Encyclopaedia Iranica benefits not only those who are interested in Persian life and culture but also students, specialists, and the educated general reader interested in a variety of academic disciplines. The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to: anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history.
The site collects works from the academic open press of Asbury Theological Seminary.
Globethics contains e-books and articles for ethical and political discourse in a global perspective. This database is rich in Spanish, French and German resources in addition to English resources. Many of the these materials are official reports and primary resources from governmental research and NGOs.
Google Books provides the full-text of millions of out-of-copyright books, as well as the ability to search and view selected contents of books still under copyright.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
HathiTrust contains resources across a wide array of disciplines, many of which are available in full-text. This database will be most useful to researchers who are investigating the history of scholarship. Most of the full text records are older books which are in the public domain.
Historical Jewish Press
This website hopes to make available online the majority of Jewish newspapers and journals published in the past, including extremely rare newspapers to which access has been previously impossible.
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
AMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers. RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis. By the end of 2013 RAMBI included about 350,000 records, from about 21,000 different sources.
Insitut für neutestamentliche Textforschung
This database is the most important resource for in-depth study of New Testament textual criticism. The database, maintained by Westfälische Wilhelms-Universtät Münster, is the leading research tool for students and scholars of New Testament textual criticism. The site is available in both English and German.
Institute for Study of the Ancient World
This database contains hundreds of highly accurate maps of the ancient Mediterranean world and high-resolution images of tens of thousands of documents and coins from the Roman empire. This site is very useful for an advanced study of the New Testament and Christian origins.
Internet Archive provides free access and a user-friendly interface to millions of out-of-copyright books.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
The goal of the Internet Medieval Sourcebook has been to construct a resource from available public domain and copy-permitted texts. The Internet Medieval Sourcebook has two major parts. The first is made up of fairly short classroom sized extracts, derived from public domain sources or copy-permitted translations, the second is composed of the full documents, or web links to the full documents.
Internet Sacred Texts Archive
This archive of online books is about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship.
Israeli Palestinian Archaeology Working Group
The Israeli-Palestinian Archaeology Working Group sponsored and partly funded a research effort by Rafi Greenberg (Tel Aviv) and Adi Keinan (University College London) in order to gather details about each site in the West Bank excavated or surveyed between 1967 (updated periodically). These data include the site name(s), location on a GIS grid, description of the site's major components (e.g. olive oil press; ritual bath; sheikh's tomb; church, synagogue, village); details about the periods when the site was occupied (e.g. Neolithic, Byzantine [Christian]; Iron Age II; Ottoman); and information about the excavators or surveyors who gathered data about the site; and relevant publications/bibliography. This collection page provides access to a database, which is a work in progress. We look forward to additions to this database file in the future as additional data are provided by Israelis, Palestinians and others.
JAINA: Federation of Jain Associations in North America
This database is for research on Jains in North America and beyond. Holdings include digital copies of hand-written Shastras from the library of Digamber Jain Syadwad Mahavidyalya Varansi under the guidance of Shri Narendra Kumar Jain, President IDJO.
"The Jain eLibrary website is an online collection of Jain scriptures, Jain manuscripts, Jain dictionary, Jain encyclopedia, Jain articles, Jain magazines, and ancient and contemporary Jain books in English, Hindi, Gujarati, and other languages. It contains Shvetämbar Ägams, Digambar Shästras, Four Anuyogas, Commentary literature, Präkrit and Sanskrut literature, and ancient and modern literature representing all aspects of Jainism. It also includes the literature of various Jain sects. Catalogues of Jain manuscripts of various Jain libraries add to the diversity of this collection."
Jan Phillips Database for Interreligious Encounter
The Jay Phillips Center for Interfaith Learning is pleased to host this database, a freely accessible tool for research in interfaith learning for students and scholars. The Jay Phillips Center seeks to further interreligious understanding by facilitating probative examination of sources across the scholarly disciplines.
This site provides automated parsing for Latin words. Simply type in a Latin word or phrase and the software will provide the parsing for that expression. The site also provides links to major public domain ebook resources for the study of Latin.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. The following services are your gateway to a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as web sites. In addition, the Library maintains and promotes the use of digital library standards and provides online research and reference services.
National Bureau of Economic Research
A nonprofit research organization that publishes top scholarship in the economics discipline. Many important articles first appear in working paper form here, and much of the scholarship has a broad, public policy focus.
Nichiren Buddhism Library
This site makes available to the public in searchable form the following English-language translations of works essential to the study of Nichiren Buddhism: The Writings of Nichiren Daishonin, volumes I and II (referred to in citation as WND-1 and WND-2), The Lotus Sutra and Its Opening and Closing Sutras (LSOC), The Record of the Orally Transmitted Teachings (OTT), and, as a reference to assist with study of these works, The Soka Gakkai Dictionary of Buddhism.
Old Testament Essays
Publishes articles on all aspects of Old Testament literature, theology, archaeology, and society.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,482,268 theses and dissertations.
The Open Commons of Phenomenology
The Open Commons host any relevant materials or research of quality related to phenomenology. “Phenomenology” itself is defined here broadly and inclusively as any work in philosophy or in other human sciences clearly connected with the ideas of “canonical phenomenologists” (Edmund Husserl, Martin Heidegger, Max Scheler, Eugen Fink, Roman Ingarden, Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Jean-Paul Sartre, Jan Patočka, Emanuel Levinas, etc.) as well as their students or followers.
Open Library of Humanities
The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journals.
This databases allows students to discover the parsing and lexical forms of the Greek words in the New Testament. It also allows researchers to compare classic editions of the Greek New Testament in a side by side format.
Oxford Open Journals
The Oxford Open initiative expands Oxford Journals' experiments with Open Access publishing models. It includes full and optional open access to journals drawn from every subject area.
Paul and Patristics
This searchable database derives from research in early Christian use of the New Testament letters attributed to Paul (the database does not yet include the Pastoral Epistles) from the first four centuries.
Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive
The Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Initiative (PCRI) is working with the USC Digital Library to build an online digital archive of primary historical materials - correspondence, organizational records, tracts, sermons, diaries, photographs, oral histories - from different regions of the world. In order to build this resource, PCRI is providing funding to selected seminary and university libraries so that they can digitize and catalog the most important materials from their collections.
Perseus is an open-source digital platform focused on primary sources (in both original languages and translation) in Classics.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
The Post-Reformation Digital Library digital books relating to the development and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.).
Prosobab (Prosopography of Babylonia)
With Prosobab we aim to provide students and researchers with an accessible tool to study the rich cuneiform text corpus surviving from this period and to support new research initiatives on Babylonia during its imperial period and under Persian rule
Research in Ministry (RIM)
Indexes and abstracts projects, theses, and dissertations from Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS). RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisers, schools, and ATLA subject headings.
Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database
The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. As it grows, it will offer an in-depth resource to complement traditional dictionaries, and also provide pointers to further research. This international, cooperative project involves a growing number of research centres with coordination provided by Amsterdam.
This database provides access to dissertations and theses completed at major Indian universities. Most dissertations are available in open access, full text.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
This open-access database has hundreds of thousands of important, current papers, many of which are available for free download as PDFs. Many of the articles are “working papers,” meaning they are in process toward a final, published form.
Society of Biblical Literature Bible Odyssey
Explore the fascinating origins of the Bible and its eventful history. On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible.
This database provides access to scores of peer-reviewed, high quality, open access journals curated by the Springer company. Springer is a leading academic publisher of scientific and social-scientific research. The articles in this database will be more useful for research in the social sciences and psychology than in religious studies.
Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations
The Journal publishes peer-reviewed scholarship on the history, theology, and contemporary realities of Jewish-Christian relations and reviews new materials in the field. The Journal also provides a vehicle for the exchange of information, cooperation, and mutual enrichment in the field of Christian-Jewish studies and relations.
Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa
This collection contains dissertations completed in Spain. The content is open access and downloadable. Most of the content is in Spanish.
Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library
The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives collected into a single institutional repository initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the global need for access to resources for education, lifelong learning, and specifically ministerial preparation.
Wiley-Blackwell Open Access Collection
Wiley Open Access is a program of fully open access journals. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals and societies as well as supported by internationally renowned editorial board members.
Women Biblical Scholars
This blog includes profiles, interviews, book reviews, and other means to spotlight women biblical scholars. Of particular interest are scholars whose work contributes to the thriving of faith communities and advances helpful discussion of religion in our contemporary world.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.