Citation Guides (Chicago, APA): Home
Welcome & Additional Assistance
This LibGuide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing a paper or dissertation.
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.) is the default/standard style manual, and specifically, the Notes/Bibliography format of the Chicago Manual of Style, NOT the Author/Date format.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essay, as well as numerous formatting examples for books, periodicals, and web sources.
Chicago Manual of Style"When that research paper comes due and you’ve forgotten your style manual, get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy® guide. Based on the 16th edition of CMS, this handy three-panel guide contains the information you need for writing academic papers to CMS specifications, pared down to the essentials, including common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due."
APA Style
With approval from a professor, students may opt to use the APA (American Psychological Association) style guide, especially for essays and dissertations that deal heavily with the social sciences.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essay, in-text citation basics, as well as numerous formatting examples for books, periodicals, and web sources.
APA/MLA GuidelinesThis newly revised and updated version of our handy APA/MLA Guidelines reference tool features the latest rules for academic writing dictated by the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Modern Language Association (MLA). Both groups are equally represented through key definitions, writing examples, and insightful tips on structuring an essay or term paper—all in an easy-to-use format.
APA Style Simplified by "This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each." - Wiley-Blackwell
MLA Style
With approval from a professor, students may opt to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) style guide.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essay, in-text citation basics, as well as numerous formatting examples for books, periodicals, and web sources.
- APA/MLA GuidelinesThis newly revised and updated version of our handy APA/MLA Guidelines reference tool features the latest rules for academic writing dictated by the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Modern Language Association (MLA). Both groups are equally represented through key definitions, writing examples, and insightful tips on structuring an essay or term paper—all in an easy-to-use format.
Additional Guidance
Review Purdue Online Writing Lab's Citation Style Chart for side-by-side comparison of Chicago, MLA, and APA Styles.
Students researching and writing in Biblical Studies are encouraged to use the SBL Handbook of Style (see the link below), especially for citations of Biblical and Classical sources.
Citation and Research Management Tools abound (see the Citation Management Tab above). Just remember that these programs and services are only as good as the data (metadata) on which they rely. Students are responsible to check the accuracy of citations against the style guide.
The SBL Handbook of Style by "The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur’anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. Features: Expanded lists of abbreviations for use in ancient Near Eastern, biblical, and early Christian studies Information for transliterating seventeen ancient languages Exhaustive examples for citing print and electronic sources." - SBL Press
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions
Citation Guides LibGuide by Esteban Aguilar and revised by Christopher Crawford is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.