Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBTQIA/Gender Studies: Welcome
This LibGuide is intended to help students discover resources in the various fields of LGBTQIA studies. Although there is an emphasis on religious/theological studies because of the overall scope of the DTL there are sources in many other fields as well. Found below are links to important databases, websites, academic journals, and important reference works and monographs.
As always, please remember that these are not all of the resources available through the DTL. Please use the search bar above and the A-Z Database list to find more resources.
Databases & Websites
"JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources."
ProQuest Psychology Journals
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This database includes: PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsychINFO. It will search all of them.
"A website about lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and heterosexual history, and, more generally, gender and sexual history. OutHistory comprises elements of an almanac, archive, article, bibliography, book, encyclopedia, library, and museum."
Queer Resources Directory
"The Queer Resources Directory (QRD) is an electronic research library specifically dedicated to sexual minorities -- groups which have traditionally been labelled as "queer" and systematically discriminated against. As a library, our function is to provide as much information as possible on every facet and issue relating to sexual minorities. Our collection is open to anyone researching the issues peculiar to this population. You may find the QRD contains information and viewpoints that you did not anticipate, or that you did not consider. It is a goal for the QRD to contain every scrap of knowledge which has been used in or is part of the struggle for full equality."
GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Encyclopedia
"The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The contents of the encyclopedia were formed and overseen by General Editor Claude Summers, Copy Editor Ted-Larry Pebworth, and Assistant to the Editor Linda Rapp. After more than two years of work, the site launched in 2003."
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
"People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Health (Medline Plus)
"Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues."
"[Has] an editorial focus on news, politics, opinion, and arts and entertainment of interest to lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender (LGBT) people. The magazine, established in 1967, is the oldest and largest LGBT publication in the United States and the only surviving one of its kind that was founded before the 1969 Stonewall Riots in New York City, an incident that is generally credited as the beginning of the LGBT rights movement."
"LGBTData.com serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures. This site also provides knowledgeable analysis, commentary and expert "how to" information on gathering such data effectively in scientific surveys, questionnaires and studies. Collected and categorized here you will find numerous datasets and links to rich data sources that are essential to LGBT health research, researchers, students, advocates and anyone interested in scientific-based information about LGBT people and populations."
The flagship publication of the Lambda Literary Foundation that promotes "lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender literature through programs that encourage development of emerging writers." It is included in this list because it has an excellent collection of book reviews that cover LGBTQIA topics.
Based in Britain, this is an online magazine that "closely follows political progress on LGBT rights around the world, and carries interviews with cultural figures, politicians and British Prime Ministers."
The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
"A quarterly scholarly journal that provides a forum for the discussion of issues and ideas of importance to lesbians and gay men worldwide, and publishes the work of the best gay and lesbian writers and thinkers. Also aims to educate the public on gay and lesbian topics. Includes essays, reviews and poetry."
Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology Review
"The journal provides a much needed forum for publishing on issues relevant to LGBTI communities in Australia and abroad, and aims to bring together the perspectives of practitioners, researchers and activists."
Gender and Behaviour
Gender and Behaviour is an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to articles, that reflect psychological and behavioural aspects of gender in general. Gender and Behaviour welcomes scholarly manuscripts from authors all over the world on a wide array of subjects concerning psychological and behavioural aspects of gender in general.
Interalia: A Journal of Queer Studies
"A peer-edited scholarly journal for queer theory, is open to submissions from a wide range of fields, written either in Polish or in English. ...Issues we hope our contributors will address is the translatability of queer concepts across cultural and linguistic borders; the relationship between queer theory and activism; the possibility of reconciling the different positionings within the queer community that are related to such factors as gender, race, class, age, sexual practices, and geographical location; the relevance of queer studies for understanding the discourses, cultural practices, and institutions that surround us; and the potential of queer as a counterdiscourse or counterpractice."
LBGTQ Policy Journal
"The Journal is a student-run, nonpartisan publication dedicated to featuring papers on the policies, politics, trends and issues impacting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) communities and individuals. Our mission is to elevate the dialogue surrounding these and other topics by offering unique perspectives, voices, information, and analyses. In that vein, the Journal is a vehicle to inform and enhance the decisions of public leaders and interested organizations around the world."
Sexuality Research & Social Policy
"The journal covers research on human sexuality, including theoretical and methodological discussions about the implications of findings for policies regarding sexual health, sex education, and sexual rights in diverse communities. The journal also includes brief research and conference reports, white papers, book, film, and other reviews, along with guest editorials and commentaries."
Culture, Health & Sexuality
Culture, Health & Sexuality provides an international forum for the analysis of culture and health, health beliefs and systems, social structures and divisions, and the implications for these for sexual health, and individual, collective and community wellbeing. The journal also explores the policy and practice implications of research in the fields of culture and reproductive and sexual health.
Sex Roles: A Journal of Research
"Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses. " - Springer
Sexuality & Culture
"Sexuality & Culture offers an international forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, psychological, social, and political issues related to sexual relationships and sexual behavior. Coverage extends to sexual consent and sexual responsibility; harassment and freedom of speech; privacy; censorship and pornography; impact of film and literature on sexual relationships; and university and governmental regulation of intimate relationships, such as interracial relationships and student-professor relationships." - Springer
Theology & Sexuality
"an international, peer reviewed journal that also aims to be accessible to those with a non-professional interest in the field such as those engaged in counselling. The themes addressed by the journal include theological constructions of sex and gender, marriage, models of the family, deconstructive and reconstructive approaches to traditional Christian (and other traditions) teaching on sexuality, sexuality and violence and oppression, and the ethics of personal relationships." - Routledge
Journal of the History of Sexuality
"Illuminates the history of sexuality in all its expressions, recognizing various differences of class, culture, gender, race, and sexual orientation. Spanning geographic and temporal boundaries, JHS provides a much-needed forum for historical, critical, and theoretical research in this field. Its cross-cultural and cross-disciplinary character brings together original articles and critical reviews from historians, social scientists, and humanities scholars worldwide." - University of Texas Press
Reference Works & Monographs
Bible, Gender, Sexuality by
"Grapples conscientiously with biblical texts at the heart of the church's debate over same-sex relationships This thought-provoking book by James Brownson develops a broad, cross-cultural sexual ethic from Scripture, locates current debates over homosexuality in that wider context, and explores why the Bible speaks the way it does about same-sex relationships. Fairly presenting both sides in this polarized debate —'traditional'and'revisionist'— Brownson conscientiously analyzes all of the pertinent biblical texts and helpfully identifies'stuck points'in the ongoing debate. In the process, he explores key concepts that inform our understanding of the biblical texts, including patriarchy, complementarity, purity and impurity, honor and shame. Central to his argument is the need to uncover the moral logic behind the text. Written in order to serve and inform the ongoing debate in many denominations over the questions of homosexuality, Brownson's in-depth study will prove a useful resource for Christians who want to form a considered opinion on this important issue." - Eerdmans
Black Queer Studies by
"Bringing together essays by established and emergent scholars, this collection assesses the strengths and weaknesses of prior work on race and sexuality and highlights the theoretical and political issues at stake in the nascent field of black queer studies. Including work by scholars based in English, film studies, black studies, sociology, history, political science, legal studies, cultural studies, and performance studies, the volume showcases the broadly interdisciplinary nature of the black queer studies project." - Duke University Press
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies by
“A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies is the first single volume survey of current discussions taking place in this rapidly developing area of study. Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gather new essays by an international team of established and emerging scholars that address the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality and engage the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics.” – Wiley-Blackwell
Gay Religion by
"Gay Religion is the first book to objectively present the spiritual lives, practices and expressions of gays, lesbians, bisexuals and the transgendered. Drawing from a wide range of religious traditions, new and established scholars explore the range of gay religious expression in denominations, sects, and in areas outside recognized religious institutions. These scholars ask what these religious innovations mean to the continually evolving religious environment of North America. " - Altamira Press
God Hates Fags: The Rhetorics of Religious Violence by
"Though long thought of as one of the most virulently anti-gay genres of contemporary American politics and culture, in God Hates Fags, Michael Cobb maintains that religious discourses have curiously figured as the most potent and pervasive forms of queer expression and activism throughout the twentieth century. Cobb focuses on how queers have assumed religious rhetoric strategically to respond to the violence done against them, alternating close readings of writings by James Baldwin, Tennessee Williams, Jean Toomer, Dorothy Allison, and Stephen Crane with critical legal and political analyses of Supreme Court Cases and anti-gay legislation. He also pays deep attention to the political strategies, public declarations, websites, interviews, and other media made by key religious right organizations that have mounted the most successful regulations and condemnations of homosexuality." - NYU Press
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
"The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions." - Rowman & Littlefield
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by
"The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. The first encyclopedia to focus on cultural diversity as a specific theme, it contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts. The Encyclopedia places topics within their socio-cultural and cross-cultural contexts while also exploring evolutionary and primatological concerns." - Back Cover
The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues by
"Showcases relevant news stories, editorials, and letters to the editor to present the major political, social, and cultural issues that have affected gays and lesbians in the U.S. over the past 150 years. This book includes twelve chapters covering topics such as the Stonewall Uprising, gays in the military, youth and education, and AIDS. Each chapter features an overview of the issue at hand, introduction to each of the articles selected, and profiles of key events and personalities. This unique title allows students and researchers access to authoritative and engaging information, giving historical context to contemporary issues."
No Tea, No Shade: New Writings in Black Queer Studies by
"The follow-up to the groundbreaking Black Queer Studies, the edited collection No Tea, No Shade brings together nineteen essays from the next generation of scholars, activists, and community leaders doing work on black gender and sexuality. Building on the foundations laid by the earlier volume, this collection's contributors speak new truths about the black queer experience while exemplifying the codification of black queer studies as a rigorous and important field of study. Topics include "raw" sex, pornography, the carceral state, gentrification, gender nonconformity, social media, the relationship between black feminist studies and black trans studies, the black queer experience throughout the black diaspora, and queer music, film, dance, and theater." - Duke University Press
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by
"Offers an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. This extensive volume, of 41 newly-commissioned essays, presents and develops the latest thinking in its area. Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores key methodological approaches in recent theologies of sexuality and gender, perspectives from other disciplines, reading and using scripture and tradition, conflicts within churches, conflicts within the non-Christian religions, theology in relation to different expressions of sexuality, and contemporary issues." - OUP Press
Queer Christianities: Lived Religion in Transgressive Forms by
"Queer Christianitiesintegrates the perspectives of queer theory, religious studies, and Christian theology into a lively conversation-both transgressive and traditional-about the fundamental questions surrounding the lives of queer Christians. The volume contributes to the emerging scholarly discussion on queer religious experiences as lived both within communities of Christian confession, as well as outside of these established communities." - NYU Press
Queering Religion, Religious Queers by
"This collection considers how religious identity interplays with other forms and contexts of identity, specifically those related to sexual identity. It asks how these intersections are formed, negotiated and resisted across time and places, including the UK, Europe, North America, Australia, and the Global South. Questions around ‘queer’ engagements in same-sex marriages, civil partnerships and other practices (e.g. adoption) have created a number of provoking stances and policy provisions – but what remains unanswered is how people experience and situate themselves within sometimes competing, or ‘contradictory’, moments as ‘religious queers’ who may be tasked with ‘queering religion’. Additionally, the presumed paradoxes of ‘marriage’, queer sexuality, religion and youth combine to generate a noteworthy generational absence. This leads to questions about where ‘religious queers’ reside, resist and relate experiences of intersecting religious and sexual lives." - Routledge
Queer Theology : Rethinking the Western Body by
"Queer Theology makes an important contribution to public debate about Christianity and sex. It is a remarkable collection of specially commissioned essays by some of the brightest and best of Anglo-American scholars. It is edited by one of the leading theologians working at the interface between religion and contemporary culture. It reconceptualizes the body and its desires. It enlarges the meaningfulness of Christian sexuality for the good of the Church. It proposes that bodies are the mobile products of changing discourses and regimes of power." -Wiley-Blackwell
Same-Sex Marriage and Religious Liberty by
"Same-Sex Marriage and Religious Liberty explores the religious freedom implications of defining marriage to include same-sex couples. It represents the only comprehensive, scholarly appraisal to date of the church-state conflicts virtually certain to arise in many spheres of law as a result of the legal recognition of same-sex marriage." - Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Stonewall Strong: Gay Men's Heroic Fight for Resilience, Good Health, and a Strong Community by
" Drawing from leading-edge research and nearly one hundred original interviews, the book makes it abundantly clear: most gay men are astonishingly resilient. Andriote deftly weaves together research data and lived experience to show that supporting gay men's resilience is the key to helping them avoid the snares that await too many who lack the emotional tools they need to face the traumas that disproportionately afflict gay men, including childhood sexual abuse, substance abuse, risky sexual behavior, depression, and suicide. Andriote writes with searing honesty about the choices and forces that brought him to his own 'before-and-after' moment, teasing out what he learned along the way about resilience, surviving, and thriving. He frames pivotal moments in recent history as manifestations of gay men's resilience, from the years of secrecy and subversion before the 1969 Stonewall riots; through the coming of age, heartbreak, and politically emboldening AIDS years; and pushing onward to legal marriage equality. Andriote gives us an inside look at family relationships that support resilient sons, the nation's largest organizations' efforts to build on the resilience of marginalized LGBTQ youth, drag houses, and community centers." - Rowman & Littlefield
Transgender, Intersex and Biblical Interpretation by
"In this volume Hornsby and Guest introduce readers to terms for the various identities of trans people and how the Bible can be an affirmation of those deemed sexually other by communities. This book offers readings of well known (e.g., Gen 1; Revelation) and not so well known (2 Sam 6; Jer 38) narratives to illustrate that the Bible has been translated and interpreted with a bias that makes heterosexuality and a two sex, two gender system natural, and thus divinely ordained. The authors present examples that show gender was never a binary, and in the Bible gender and sex are always dynamic categories that do, and must, transition." - SBL Press
The Transgender Studies Reader by
"Over the past twenty years, transgender studies has emerged as a dynamic field of interdisciplinary scholarship. First collected in Routledge's own The Transgender Studies Reader in 2006, the field has moved on, rapidly expanding in many directions. The Transgender Studies Reader 2 gathers these disparate strands of scholarship, and collects them into a format that makes sense for teaching and research. Complimenting the first volume, rather than competing with it, the second volume introduces another 50 articles, with explanatory head notes for each essay, and bibliographic suggestions for further reading." - Routledge
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History by
"A uniquely authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the key men and women in the history of homosexuality from antiquity to the middle of the twentieth century. It includes biographies, with references, on figures - famous, notorious or unknown - in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia." - Routledge
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions