Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Feminist Theology/Feminist Studies: Welcome
This LibGuide is intended to provide introductory resources for students interested in the academic study of feminist theology; it also provides some internet sources and academic journals of feminism in general. The purpose of this page is to provide a starting point for further study. These resources are only some of what the DTL offers; to search the DTL's full catalog please use the search bar above.
Databases & Online Resources
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
"A selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program."
Feminism and Religion
"Feminism and Religion is an all-volunteer project that comes together through the collaborative work of a diverse community of thinkers, writers, activists. You are invited to take part and bring your own contribution to this work at the intersection of feminism and religion....We establish this blog in the hope that feminist scholars of religion — and all who are interested in these issues — will use this forum to share their ideas, insights, and experiences, so that this community of thinkers will be nurtured as we explore diverse and new directions."
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
"Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Ross Scaife and Suzanne Bonefas launched this project in early 1995; since that time it has been developed mainly by Scaife, but with help and contributions from many quarters."
Discovering American Women's History Online
“This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. The database offers the following features: detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections; quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page; options for browsing by subject (300+ entries), place, time period, and primary source type; options for narrowing search results by subject, time period, place, and primary source type; RSS feeds (at right) alert users to new records in the database.”
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
"This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. The Women's Liberation Movement refers to a series of campaigns for reforms on issues such as reproductive rights, domestic violence, and equal pay." - Duke University Library
Suffragists Oral History Project
"In the early 1970s the Suffragists Oral History Project, under the auspices of the Bancroft Library's Regional Oral History Office, collected interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement. Tape-recorded and transcribed oral histories preserved the memories of these remarkable women, documenting formative experiences, activities to win the right to vote for women, and careers as leaders of the movements for welfare and labor reform, world peace, and the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment." - UC Berkeley
Women Working, 1800–1930
"A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."
"A peer reviewed journal that aims to give a voice to the women of Britain and Ireland in matters of theology and religion but does not restrict itself to the work of feminist theologians and thinkers in these islands. Feminist Theology, while academic in its orientation, is deliberately designed to be accessible to a wide range of readers, whether theologically trained or not."
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
"The oldest interdisciplinary, inter-religious feminist academic journal in religious studies, is a channel for the publication of feminist scholarship in religion and a forum for discussion and dialogue among women and men of differing feminist perspectives. Its editors are committed to rigorous thinking and analysis in the service of the transformation of religious studies as a discipline and the feminist transformation of religious and cultural institutions."
Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy
"The only journal for scholarly research at the intersection of philosophy and women's studies, Hypatia is a leader in reclaiming the work of women philosophers and is indispensable for those interested in philosophy."
"An international peer reviewed journal edited by a Collective based in the U.K. with support from an international group of Corresponding Editors. The journal was founded in 1979 with the objective of uniting "research and theory with political practice and contributing to the development of both." The journal remains committed to this objective and to the exploration and articulation of the socio-economic realities of women's lives. The aim is to promote materialist work which is informed by both socio-economic and cultural representational issues."
"Feminist Formations cultivates a forum where feminists from around the world articulate research, theory, activism, teaching, and learning, thereby showcasing new feminist formations. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, we publish innovative work by scholars, activists, artists, poets, and practitioners in feminist, gender, and sexuality studies. Our subject matter includes national, global, and transnational feminist thought and practice; the cultural and social politics of genders and sexualities; and historical and contemporary studies of gendered experience. The journal values established and emerging lines of inquiry and methods that engage the complexities of gender as implicated in forms of power such as race, ethnicity, class, nation, migration, ability, and religion."
Women's Studies Quarterly
"Since 1972, WSQ has been an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality. Its thematic issues focus on such topics as Activisms, The Global and the Intimate, The Sexual Body, Trans-, Technologies, and Mother, combining psychoanalytic, legal, queer, cultural, technological, and historical work to present the most exciting new scholarship on ideas that engage popular and academic readers alike. In 2007, WSQ was awarded the Council of Editors of Learned Journals’ Phoenix Award."
"The oldest continuing scholarly journal in the field of women's studies published in the U.S. Contents of the journal reflect its commitment to publishing an interdisciplinary body of feminist knowledge, in multiple genres (research, criticism, commentaries, creative work), that views the intersection of gender with racial identity, sexual orientation, economic means, geographical location, and physical ability as the touchstone for its intellectual analysis. Whether drawn from the complex past or the shifting present, the work that appears in Feminist Studies addresses social and political issues that intimately and significantly affect women and men in the United States and around the world." NOTE: THERE IS A THREE YEAR DELAY IN THE DTL'S ACCESS
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
"Recognized as the leading international journal in women’s studies, Signs is at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship. The journal publishes pathbreaking articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality. Special issue and section topics cover a broad range of geopolitical processes, conditions, and effects; cultural and social configurations; and scholarly and theoretical developments."
Feminism, Gender Studies & Religion eBooks
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America by
"The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women’s religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience." - Indiana University Press
The Cambridge Companion to Feminist Theology by
"This book is a critical guide to the scholarly exploration of feminist theology. It describes the main features of this modern theological development and examines its major concerns and questions. It presents comprehensive and critical analyses of the essential matters of Christian doctrine written by contributors knowledgeable in feminist theology. The book presents a challenge for future scholarship, since it critically engages with the assumptions of feminist theology, and seeks to open ways for women after feminism to enter into the vocation of theology." - CUP
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion by
"This second edition of Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion provides updated and expanded information from historians and other scholars of religion, covering new issues in religion to better describe and document women's roles within religious groups. For instance, the term "evangelical feminism" is one newly defined aspect of women's involvement in religious activism. Changes are constantly occurring within the many religious faiths and denominations in America, particularly as women strive to gain positions within religious hierarchies that previously were exclusive to men and rise within their denominations to become theologians, church leaders, and bishops." - ABC-CLIO
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theology by
"This handbook highlights the relevance of globalization and the insights of gender studies and religious studies for feminist theology. Beginning with a discussion of the position of the discipline at the turn of the twenty-first century, it seeks to present an inclusive account of feminist theology in the early twenty-first century that acknowledges the reflection of women on religion beyond the global North and its forms of Christianity. Globalization is taken as the central theme, as the foremost characteristic of the context in which we do feminist theology today. The handbook traces the impacts of globalization on gender and religion in specific geographical contexts, describing the implications for feminist theological thinking. A final section explores the changing contents of the field, moving toward new models of theology, distinct from both the structure and language of traditional Christian systematic theology and the forms of secular feminism. The handbook draws on material from several religious traditions and every populated continent, with chapters provided by a team of international scholars." - OUP
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by
"The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender offers an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. This extensive volume, of 41 newly-commissioned essays, presents and develops the latest thinking in its area. Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores key methodological approaches in recent theologies of sexuality and gender, perspectives from other disciplines, reading and using scripture and tradition, conflicts within churches, conflicts within the non-Christian religions, theology in relation to different expressions of sexuality, and contemporary issues. Challenging but accessible, this volume is a comprehensive reference for students and scholars, which will also stimulate further research." -OUP
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by
"As the first major encyclopedia of its kind, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies is the go-to source for scholars and students undertaking original research in the field. Extending the work of nineteenth and twentieth century feminist scholarship and more recent queer studies, the Encyclopedia seeks to advance the scholarly conversation by systematically exploring the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute “the world of the Bible.” With contributions from leading scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians, this comprehensive reference work reflects the diverse and interdisciplinary nature of the field and traces both historical and modern conceptions of gender and sexuality in the Bible." - OUP
A Reader in Latina Feminist Theology by
"With twelve original essays by emerging and established Latina feminist theologians, this first-of-its-kind volume adds the perspectives, realities, struggles, and spiritualities of U.S. Latinas to the larger feminist theological discourse. The editors have gathered writings from both Roman Catholics and Protestants and from various Latino/a communities. The writers address a wide array of theological concerns: popular religion, denominational presence and attraction, methodology, lived experience, analysis of nationhood, and interpretations of life lived on a border that is not only geographic but also racial, gendered, linguistic, and religious" - UT Press
Dictionary of Feminist Theology by
"A collaborative project of dozens of leading scholars, the Dictionary of Feminist Theologies provides a much-needed tool for all who wish to learn about the growing fields of womanist, mujerista, Asian feminist, and white Euroamerican feminist studies in religion. The dictionary provides a pluralistic approach to feminist theologies, guiding readers who are interested in all areas of Christian theology as they relate to feminism. It addresses topics that are important for the continuing feminist dialogue among many religions, cultural, and racial groups. An extensive bibliography gives readers access to the best in feminist theological writings." WJK Press
A Garland of Feminist Reflections by
"Rita M. Gross has long been acknowledged as a founder in the field of feminist theology. One of the earliest scholars in religious studies to discover how feminism affects that discipline, she is recognized as preeminent in Buddhist feminist theology. The essays in A Garland of Feminist Reflections represent the major aspects of her work and provide an overview of her methodology in women's studies in religion and feminism. The introductory article, written specifically for this volume, summarizes the conclusions Gross has reached about gender and feminism after forty years of searching and exploring, and the autobiography, also written for this volume, narrates how those conclusions were reached. These articles reveal the range of scholarship and reflection found in Rita M. Gross's work and demonstrate how feminist scholars in the 1970s shifted the paradigm away from an androcentric model of humanity and forever changed the way we study religion" - University of California Press
Feminist Biblical Studies in the Twentieth Century: Scholarship and Movement by
"This collection of essays on feminist biblical studies in the twentieth century seeks to explore four areas of inquiry demanding further investigation. In the first section, articles chart the beginnings and developments of feminist biblical studies as a conversation among feminists around the world. The second section introduces, reviews, and discusses the hermeneutic religious spaces created by feminist biblical studies. The third segment discusses academic methods of reading and interpretation that dismantle androcentric language and kyriarchal authority. The fourth section returns to the first with work that transgresses academic boundaries in order to exemplify the transforming, inspiring, and institutionalizing feminist work that has been and is being done to change religious mindsets of domination and to enable wo/men to engage in critical readings of the Bible." - SBL Press
The Female Face of God in Auschwitz by
"The dominant theme of post-Holocaust Jewish theology has been that of the temporary hiddenness of God, interpreted either as a divine mystery or, more commonly, as God's deferral to human freedom. But traditional Judaic obligations of female presence, together with the traditional image of the Shekhinah as a figure of God's 'femaleness' accompanying Israel into exile, seem to contradict such theologies of absence. The Female Face of God in Auschwitz, the first full-length feminist theology of the Holocaust, argues that the patriarchal bias of post-Holocaust theology becomes fully apparent only when women's experiences and priorities are brought into historical light. Building upon the published testimonies of four women imprisoned at Auschwitz-Birkenau - Olga Lengyel, Lucie Adelsberger, Bertha Ferderber-Salz and Sara Nomberg-Przytyk - it considers women's distinct experiences of the holy in relation to God's perceived presence and absence in the camps." - Routledge
Introducing Asian Feminist Theology by
"Asian women comprise more than a quarter of the world's population, and the forms in which they express feminist theology are many and varied, extending through grassroots movements, theological networks, ecumenical conferences and journals. Those involved in the process include community organizers, theological students, church leaders and social activists, among whom even the concept 'feminism' assumes many definitions and substitutes. Kwok Pui-lan's introduction to this huge subject begins with a survey of the social, political and cultural contexts of Asian women's experiences, and then traces the emergence of feminist consciousness and the organization of women's networks. She describes the resources of Asian feminist theology and the appropriation of Asian religious traditions, and considers the reconstructions of the concept of God in inclusive categories. Finally, she summarizes Asian women's critique of the patriarchal church and outlines the search for a new spirituality that express women's embodiedness and sexuality." - Bloomsbury T&T Clark
Muslima Theology by
This pioneering volume defines the contours of the emerging engagements of Muslim women scholars from around the world with the authoritative interpretive traditions of Islam, classical and contemporary. Muslima theology, here broadly defined to encompass a range of interpretive strategies and perspectives arising from multiple social locations, interrogates Islamic scripture and other forms of religious discourse to empower Muslim women of faith to speak for themselves in the interests of gender justice. Contributions provide an overview of the field at this juncture-ranging from pioneering Muslim scriptural feminism to detailed analyses of legal and mystical texts by a new international cohort of Muslim women academics and activists. Contemporary female Muslim "constructivist" approaches articulate concerns with diversity, including race and religious pluralism, paralleling developments in womanist and mujerista readings of religious texts." - Peter Lang GmbH, Internationaler Verlag der Wissenschaften
The Second Sex by
Simone de Beauvoir’s masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of “woman,” and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness. This long-awaited new edition reinstates significant portions of the original French text that were cut in the first English translation. Vital and groundbreaking, Beauvoir’s pioneering and impressive text remains as pertinent today as it was sixty years ago, and will continue to provoke and inspire generations of men and women to come.
Womanist and Mujerista Psychologies by
"This inspiring book introduces the psychologies of womanists and mujeristas—African American women and Latinas, respectively, who have a broad and inclusive approach to feminism and liberation. Womanist and mujerista values and worldviews emphasize resiliency, strength, activism, self-expression, creativity, spirituality/connection, self-definition, and liberation of all oppressed people. As opposed to much general psychology literature that pathologizes or marginalizes the experiences of African American women and Latinas, this book centralizes their experiences and unpacks the underexplored areas of their historical and contemporary ways of knowing and approaches to living. The chapters integrate findings from multiple disciplines to explore psychology, spirituality, creativity, activism, counseling, healing, research, and leadership from a womanist and mujerista perspective." - American Psychological Association
The Word According to Eve : Women and the Bible in Ancient Times and Our Own by
"In the world that created the Bible, there were no female scholars and theologians; yet since World War II, owing to such stunning discoveries as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Nag Hammadi texts and to advances in historical understanding, a new generation of scholars has found new ways of reading the Scriptures - including querying the role that male divines have traditionally assigned to women, both those who populate the Bible and those living in the modern world. Surveying the new scholarship and the personalities of those who have created it, The Word According to Eve not only explores afresh the history of our religions but offers exciting new challenges to our sense of worship." - Mariner Books
Women, Wisdom, and Witness by
"This collection of essays by seminar members addresses significant contexts of contemporary women's experience: suffering and resistance, education, and the crossroads of religion and public life. Theology is brought to bear on some pressing issues in our time: poverty, sexual norms, trauma and slavery, health care, immigration, and the roles of women in academia and in the church. Readers will discover the rich socio-political, interdisciplinary, and dialogical implications of Catholic women's intellectual and social praxis in contemporary theology and ethics." - Michael Glazier Press
Feminism and Religion: How Faiths View Women and Their Rights by
“Renowned subject experts Michele A. Paludi and J. Harold Ellens lead readers through a detailed exploration of the feminist methods, issues, and theoretical frameworks that have made women central, not marginal, to religions around the world. This work addresses feminism in several religions, including Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism explores how theology speaks to women's experiences in the family, in relationships, at work, in politics, and in education, while also addressing atheist viewpoints and experiences; and addresses a subject that is highly relevant in discussions focused on events in the Middle East and as the number of women becoming leaders of or top officials in various faiths continues to grow.” - Praeger
Recognizing Other Subjects: Feminist Pastoral Theology and the Challenge of Identity by
"How do we care justly when selves suffer because of the identities that they inhabit? Pastoral theologian Katharine Lassiter approaches this interdisciplinary question from a feminist perspective in order to understand how suffering, subject formation, and social injustice are interconnected. Reflecting on tensions in her own experiences of caring for selves, Lassiter identifies the challenges of identity in developing a pastoral theological anthropology. Drawing from theories of recognition, she argues that doing just care requires recognizing the need for recognition as well as understanding the impediments to receiving interpersonal, social, and theological recognition. Bringing together resources from pastoral theology and social theory, she develops a feminist pastoral theology and praxis of encounter in order to advance a care that does justice. Scholars, social justice practitioners, and pastoral caregivers will be able to use this resource to understand not only how and why recognition affects human development but also how we might implement a liberative theological praxis attentive to the role of recognition in subject formation." - Pickwick Publications
Making Paper Cranes: Toward an Asian American Feminist Theology by
"Drawing on memories of making paper cranes with her mother at the kitchen table, Mihee Kim-Kort begins with one of her favorite stories from childhood about the tradition of making a thousand cranes. Intrigued by the symbol of the crane, she explores the migrations and movements of the community of Asian American women. What results is a theological endeavor that engages the social histories, literary texts, and narratives of Asian American women as well as the constructive theologies of feminist and liberation theologians. But, it is ultimately one young woman's embrace of living into this community and identity, and articulating a particular theology that is hopefully accessible to all who have experienced powerlessness and marginalization. Simply put, Making Paper Cranes is about Asian American mothers, daughters, sisters, and women who courageously discover the grace in the struggle, the survival, and the song." - Chalice Press
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions