Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome: Greco-Roman Religions
One of the most important and often overlooked aspects of Biblical studies is the study of the Greco-Roman world in which 2nd Temple Judaism and Early Christianity found themselves. By better understanding the culture and the religions that surrounded the worlds in which Judaism and Christianity matured, one can better understand the historical projections that each religion took.
Provided in this LibGuide are links to important online resources including: Databases, websites, journals, and Ebooks. These will provide students with key introductory and intermediate resources to help write papers, keep up-to-date with current academic studies, and the lastest monographs.
As with all LibGuides, these are just some of the many resources available to students. Please use the search bar above to gain access to the full catalog of books and articles.
Databases & Online Resources
This is your "go-to" site when attempting to find journal articles on specific topics
Similar to JSTOR in that it provides access to journal articles on various topics. This has access to some journals not available through JSTOR.
Perseus Digital Library
This database offers access to hundreds of Greek and Latin sources. What makes this database unique is that it includes a parsing tool and dictionary to aid in translation. It also provides access to public domain English translations of the texts when available. It is an open access project, meaning that patrons and non-patrons have equal access to every part of the project.
Loeb Classical Library
The entire collection of Harvard Press' world-class Loeb Classical Library is available through this database. The most important works of classical literature are available in the same bilingual (Greek-English or Latin-English) format that made it famous. Constantly updated, this database is invaluable for understanding the Greco-Roman world.
Classical Inquiries (CI): Studies on the Ancient World from CHS
"Classical Inquiries (CI) is an online, rapid-publication project of Harvard’s Center for Hellenic Studies, devoted to sharing some of the latest thinking on the ancient world with researchers and the general public. The primary author for CI will be Gregory Nagy, who is currently the Director at the Center and the Francis Jones Professor of Classical Greek Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature at Harvard University in Cambridge. Nagy will post on a wide variety of topics and will be joined by an intergenerational team of CHS researchers from Harvard and beyond."
Center for Hellenic Studies: Online Publications
"As part of its mission of bringing together a variety of research interests centered on Hellenic civilization and sharing them with a wider audience, the Center for Hellenic Studies publishes books, journals, proceedings of colloquia, discussions, databases, lectures, and other materials, both online and in print."
Theoi Greek Mythology
An online site dedicated to the study of Greek Mythology. Although this site is not associated with any academic institution it is an excellent source for introductory information on Greek mythology and provides sources for all of its information.
AWOL: The Ancient World Online
"AWOL is a project of Charles E. Jones, Tombros Librarian for Classics and Humanities at the Pattee Library, Penn State University. The primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but [it] will also include other kinds of networked information as it comes available."
The Classical Journal
" The Classical Journal publishes scholarly articles on Greek and Latin language and literature and on all other aspects of classical studies, together with book reviews. Its Forum section features articles devoted to pedagogy."
DTL Coverage: 1905-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 109, No. 4) with a 3 year moving wall
The Classical World
"This peer-reviewed journal publishes contributions on all aspects of Greek and Roman literature, history, and society; on the classical tradition; on the history of classical scholarship; and on the teaching of Latin, Greek, and classical civilization."
DTL coverage: 1957-2012 (Vol. 51, No. 1 - Vol. 106, No. 1) with a 5 year moving wall.
"Kernos is the only international scientific journal entirely devoted to the study of the religious facts and phenomena in ancient Greece. It aims at providing, not only to the scholars of this field, but also to everyone interested in religious problematics, an instrument of reflexion and working tools to progress in the knowledge of the religious system of the Greeks."
"Classical Philology has been an internationally respected journal for the study of the life, languages, and thought of the Ancient Greek and Roman world since 1906. The journal covers a broad range of topics from a variety of interpretative points of view."
DTL coverage: 1906-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 110, No. 4) with a 2 year moving wall.
The Classical Review
"The Classical Review publishes informative reviews from leading scholars on new work covering the literatures and civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Publishing over 150 high quality reviews and 50 brief notes every year, The Classical Review is an indispensable reference tool, essential for keeping abreast with current classical scholarship."
1887-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 62, No. 2) with a 5 year moving wall.
For access issues from 2013 - 2016 click HERE
"Classical Antiquity explores interdisciplinary research and discussion of major issues throughout the field of classics, including Greek and Roman literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy and philology — Bronze Age through Late Antiquity. From extant written materials to newly unearthed art-objects, Classical Antiquity's coverage of the Greco-Roman ancient world is truly expansive."
DTL coverage: 1982-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 34, No. 1) with a 3 year moving wall.
"Since its first appearance in 1852, as a journal of textual criticism, Mnemosyne has been securing its position as one of the world's leading journals in its field. Its position is built on the thorough and famous Dutch academic tradition. Authors around the world contribute to Mnemosyne which results in a unique and special combination of European and American visions. Its presence in libraries around the globe is a sign of its continued success as an invaluable resource material.
Featuring primarily English articles, Mnemosyne also contains an extensive Book Review Section and the worldwide famous 'Miscellanea' section (short articles on particular excerpts). The Book Review Section does not focus at one single field, but utilizes a multidisciplinary approach."
DTL coverage: 1852-2012 (1ste Deel - Vol. 65, Fasc. 4/5) with a 5 year moving wall.
Illinois Classical Studies
"Publishes original research on a variety of topics related to the Classics, in all areas of Classical Philology and its ancillary disciplines, such as Greek and Latin literature, history, archaeology, epigraphy, papyrology, patristics, the history of Classical scholarship, the reception of Classics in the Middle Ages, the Renaissance and beyond."
DTL coverage: 1976-2017 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 42, No. 2) with a 3 year moving wall.
Harvard Studies in Classical Philology
"The Editorial Committee of Harvard Studies in Classical Philology welcomes all submissions dealing with any aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. In considering submissions for publication in Harvard Studies, we adhere to an inclusive definition of what constitutes philology, and we welcome variety in approaches to the study of the ancient world. In addition to scholarship on language and written texts from the ancient world, HSCP publishes work, for example, on ancient history, philosophy, art history, and the reception of classical culture in late antiquity, the medieval period, and beyond."
DTL Coverage: 1890-2013 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 107) with a three year moving wall
The American Journal of Philology
"Since its founding in 1880 by Basil Lanneau Gildersleeve, The American Journal of Philology has helped to shape American classical scholarship. Today The Journal has achieved worldwide recognition as a forum for international exchange among classicists and philologists by publishing original research in Greek and Roman literature; classic linguistics; and Greek and Roman history, society, religion, and philosophy."
DTL Coverage: 1880-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 133, No. 4) with a 5 year moving wall.
For access to years 2013-2016 click HERE.
L’Antiquité Classique est une revue annuelle, de renommée internationale, spécialisée dans le domaine de l’Antiquité grecque et romaine (de la période préhellénique jusqu’à l’Antiquité tardive ou aux aspects de la Renaissance liés aux études antiques). Soutenue par la Fondation universitaire de Belgique et le Fonds de la Recherche scientifique (FNRS), la revue publie dans les langues usuelles de la recherche (anglais, français, allemand, italien, espagnol…) des contributions originales, soumises préalablement à l’avis d’un Comité de lecture (avec experts internationaux).
The Journal of Hellenic Studies
"The Journal of Hellenic Studies was first issued in 1880 and is internationally recognized as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of Classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics, and reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies."
DTL Coverage: 1880-2014 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 134) with a three year moving wall
The Journal of Roman Studies
"The Journal of Roman Studies publishes papers in the full range of the field which the Roman Society was established to promote, i.e. 'the study of the history, archaeology, literature and art of Italy and the Roman Empire, from the earliest times down to about A.D. 700'. The emphasis is on historical themes, but there are also articles on literary, archaeological and art historical topics, including issues of cultural and intellectual history that cut across these categories."
DTL Coverage:1911-2014 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 104) with a 3 year moving wall
"Phoenix, journal of the Classical Association of Canada, publishes scholarly papers embodying original research in all areas of classical studies: the literature, language, history, philosophy, religion, mythology, science, archaeology, art, architecture, and culture of the Greek and Roman worlds from earliest times to about AD 600."
DTL Coverage:1946-2017 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 71, No. 1/2
Revue de Philologie, de Littérature et d'Histoire Anciennes
"Fondée en 1845 par Léon Rénier, la revue publie actuellement deux fascicules par an formant un tome. Chaque fascicule comprend : des articles (linguistique, histoire, littérature…); un bulletin bibliographique d’une trentaine de pages rendant compte des parutions récentes sur le monde antique; les résumés en anglais et en français des articles du fascicule;dans chaque premier fascicule, une Chronique d’étymologie grecque conçue et réalisée en liaison avec le GDR 1038 (Linguistique du grec ancien) "
DTL Coverage: 1996 (Vol. 70, no. 1) - 2018, some exceptions (delayed 2 years)
"La Revue Latomus, fondée en 1937 par Marc-Antoine Kugener, Léon Herrmann et Marcel Renard, puis continuée par Carl Deroux, est actuellement publiée sous la direction de David Engels, avec l'aide financière du Ministère de la Communauté Française (Direction générale de l'enseignement non-obligatoire et de la recherche scientifique) ainsi que de la Fondation Universitaire de Belgique."
DTL Coverage: 1937-2010 (T. 1, Fasc. 1 - T. 69, Fasc. 4)
The Cambridge History of Religions in the Ancient World by
"The Cambridge History of Religion in the Ancient World provides a comprehensive examination of the history of the religions of the ancient Near East and Mediterranean world. The essays in these volumes have a broad reach, covering the ancient Near East and Mediterranean, and extending from the Bronze Age into the late Roman period. Its contributors, acknowledged experts in their fields, incorporate a wide spectrum of textual and material evidence into their analyses of their fields. The regional and historical orientations of the essays will enable readers to see how a religious tradition or movement assumed a distinctive local identity, as well as to understand how each tradition developed within its broader regional context. Supplemented with maps, illustrations, and detailed indexes, these volumes will be an excellent reference tool for scholars and students." - CUP
The Classical Tradition by
How do we get from the polis to the police? Or from Odysseus' sirens to an ambulance's? The legacy of ancient Greece and Rome has been imitated, resisted, misunderstood, and reworked by every culture that followed. In this volume, some five hundred articles by a wide range of scholars investigate the afterlife of this rich heritage in the fields of literature, philosophy, art, architecture, history, politics, religion, and science. Arranged alphabetically from Academy to Zoology, the essays?designed and written to serve scholars, students, and the general reader alike?show how the Classical tradition has shaped human endeavors from art to government, mathematics to medicine, drama to urban planning, legal theory to popular culture. At once authoritative and accessible, learned and entertaining, comprehensive and surprising, and accompanied by an extensive selection of illustrations, this guide illuminates the vitality of the Classical tradition that still surrounds us today.
A Companion to Greek Mythology by
"A Companion to Greek Mythology presents a series of essays that explore the phenomenon of Greek myth from its origins in shared Indo-European story patterns and the Greeks' contacts with their Eastern Mediterranean neighbours through its development as a shared language and thought-system for the Greco-Roman world." - Wiley-Blackwell
A Companion to Greek Religion by
"This major addition to Blackwell's Companions to the Ancient World series covers all aspects of religion in the ancient Greek world from the archaic, through the classical and into the Hellenistic period." - Wiley-Blackwell
A Companion to Roman Religion by
"A comprehensive treatment of the significant symbols and institutions of Roman religion, this companion places the various religious symbols, discourses, and practices, including Judaism and Christianity, into a larger framework to reveal the sprawling landscape of the Roman religion." - Wiley-Blackwell
Greek Religion by
"This is the first major synthesis of Greek religion to appear for a generation. A clearly structured and readable survey for classical scholars and students, it will also be generally welcomed as the best modern account of any polytheistic religious system. The text builds up an impressive and coherent picture of the current state of knowledge about the religion of the ancient Greeks." Wiley-Blackwell
The Greeks and the Irrational by
"In this philosophy classic, which was first published in 1951, E. R. Dodds takes on the traditional view of Greek culture as a triumph of rationalism. Using the analytical tools of modern anthropology and psychology, Dodds asks, "Why should we attribute to the ancient Greeks an immunity from 'primitive' modes of thought which we do not find in any society open to our direct observation?" Praised by reviewers as "an event in modern Greek scholarship" and "a book which it would be difficult to over-praise,"
Law and Religion in the Roman Republic by
"Drawing on epigraphic, legal, literary, and numismatic sources, this book reveals how, in the Roman Republic, law and religion interacted to serve the same purpose, the continued growth and consolidation of Rome’s power" - Brill
The Matter of the Gods: Religion and the Roman Empire by
"What did the Romans know about their gods? Why did they perform the rituals of their religion, and what motivated them to change those rituals? To these questions Clifford Ando proposes simple answers: In contrast to ancient Christians, who had faith, Romans had knowledge, and their knowledge was empirical in orientation. In other words, the Romans acquired knowledge of the gods through observation of the world, and their rituals were maintained or modified in light of what they learned. After a preface and opening chapters that lay out this argument about knowledge and place it in context, The Matter of the Gods pursues a variety of themes essential to the study of religion in history." - University of California Press
Mystic Cults in Magna Graecia by
"In Vergil’s Aeneid, the poet implies that those who have been initiated into mystery cults enjoy a blessed situation both in life and after death. This collection of essays brings new insight to the study of mystic cults in the ancient world, particularly those that flourished in Magna Graecia (essentially the area of present-day Southern Italy and Sicily). Implementing a variety of methodologies, the contributors to Mystic Cults in Magna Graecia examine an array of features associated with such “mystery religions” that were concerned with individual salvation through initiation and hidden knowledge rather than civic cults directed toward Olympian deities usually associated with Greek religion. Contributors present contemporary theories of ancient religion, field reports from recent archaeological work, and other frameworks for exploring mystic cults in general and individual deities specifically, with observations about cultural interactions throughout. Topics include Dionysos and Orpheus, the Goddess Cults, Isis in Italy, and Roman Mithras, explored by an international array of scholars including Giulia Sfameni Gasparro (“Aspects of the Cult of Demeter in Magna Graecia”) and Alberto Bernabé (“Imago Inferorum Orphica”). The resulting volume illuminates this often misunderstood range of religious phenomena." - University of Texas Press
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by
"Unrivalled in scope for over sixty years, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation. The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era." -OUP
"From one of the world's leading authorities on the subject, an innovative and comprehensive account of religion in the ancient Roman and Mediterranean world In this ambitious and authoritative book, Rüpke provides a comprehensive and strikingly original narrative history of ancient Roman and Mediterranean religion over more than a millennium--from the late Bronze Age through the Roman imperial period and up to late antiquity. While focused primarily on the city of Rome, Pantheon fully integrates the many religious traditions found in the Mediterranean world, including Judaism and Christianity. This generously illustrated book is also distinguished by its unique emphasis on lived religion, a perspective that stresses how individuals' experiences and practices transform religion into something different from its official form. The result is a radically new picture of both Roman religion and a crucial period in Western religion--one that influenced Judaism, Christianity, Islam, and even the modern idea of religion itself."
Plato's Gods by
"This book presents a comprehensive study into Plato's theological doctrines, offering an important re-valuation of the status of Plato's gods and the relation between metaphysics and theology according to Plato. Starting from an examination of Plato's views of religion and the relation between religion and morality, Gerd Van Riel investigates Plato's innovative ways of speaking about the gods. This theology displays a number of diverging tendencies - viewing the gods as perfect moral actors, as cosmological principles or as celestial bodies whilst remaining true to traditional anthropomorphic representations." - Routledge
Pollution and Religion in Ancient Rome by
"Pollution could come from any number of sources in the Roman world. Bodily functions, sexual activity, bloodshed, death - any of these could cause disaster if brought into contact with religion. Its presence could invalidate sacrifices, taint religious officials, and threaten to bring down the anger of the gods upon the city. Orators could use pollution as a means of denigrating opponents and obstructing religious procedures, and writers could emphasise the 'otherness' of barbarians by drawing attention to their different ideas about what was or was not 'dirty'. Yet despite all this, religious pollution remained a vague concept within the Latin language, and what constituted pollution could change depending on the context in which it appeared. Calling upon a range of research disciplines, this book highlights the significant role that pollution played across Roman religion, and the role it played in the construction of religious identity." - CUP
Religion of the Gods: Ritual, Paradox, and Reflexivity by
"The book examines the comparative evidence from a cultural and historical perspective, uncovering deep structural resonances while also revealing crucial differences. Instead of looking for invisible recipients or lost myths, the book proposes the new category of “divine reflexivity.” Divinely performed ritual is a self-reflexive, self-expressive action that signals the origin of ritual in the divine and not the human realm. Above all, divine ritual is generative, both instigating and inspiring human religious activity. The religion practiced by the gods is both like and unlike human religious action. Seen from within the religious tradition, gods are not “big people,” but other than human. Human ritual is directed outward to a divine being, but the gods practice ritual on their own behalf. “Cultic time,” the symbiotic performance of ritual both in heaven and on earth, collapses the distinction between cult and theology each time ritual is performed." - OUP
Rethinking Greek Religion by
"Who marched in religious processions and why? How were blood sacrifice and communal feasting related to identities in the ancient Greek city? With questions such as these, current scholarship aims to demonstrate the ways in which religion maps on to the socio-political structures of the Greek polis ('polis religion'). In this book Dr Kindt explores a more comprehensive conception of ancient Greek religion beyond this traditional paradigm. Comparative in method and outlook, the book invites its readers to embark on an interdisciplinary journey touching upon such diverse topics as religious belief, personal religion, magic and theology. Specific examples include the transformation of tyrant property into ritual objects, the cultural practice of setting up dedications at Olympia, and a man attempting to make love to Praxiteles' famous statue of Aphrodite. The book will be valuable for all students and scholars seeking to understand the complex phenomenon of ancient Greek religion." - CUP
Rome and Religion: A Cross-Disciplinary Dialogue on the Imperial Cult by
"This book presents an up-to-date discussion of the Roman imperial cult (the divinization of the emperor) and its general importance in early Christianity and ancient Mediterranean religions. It features opening and closing essays by Karl Galinsky, a foremost authority on Roman history and culture. Thirteen other essays explore related aspects and draw on a wide variety of disciplinary perspectives, including theory, method, archaeology, epigraphy, and art. The authors are classicists, biblical and religious scholars, historians, and archaeologists, with expertise in various cultural milieus. Reflecting this spectrum of backgrounds and interests, the book addresses issues and phenomena covering a broad expanse of subjects, locations, and methodological concerns." - SBL Press
The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology by
"This new edition is a completely rewritten and revised version of Rose's original, seminal, text. Adding a huge amount of new material, Robin Hard incorporates the results of the latest research into his authoritative accounts of all the gods and heroes. The narrative framework of the book includes helpful signposting so that the book can be used as work of reference, and alongside the narrative chapters, it includes full documentation of the ancient sources, maps, and genealogical tables. Illustrated throughout with numerous photographs and line drawings, it will remain the definitive account of ancient Greek mythology for generations to come." - Routledge
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions