Skip to main content
This is a brief guide to help students who are interested in chaplaincy find valuable resources for writing papers, keeping up-to-date with current academic discussions, and important Ebooks on the topic.
These are not all of the resources provided through the DTL. Please use the search bar above to find further resources.
Databases & Online Resources
This is your "go-to" site when attempting to find journal articles on specific topics
PILOTS (The Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
"The Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) Database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Unlike other databases, the PILOTS Database does not restrict its coverage to articles appearing in selected journals. It attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress, whatever their origin without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations"
ProQuest Psychology Journals
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
This database includes: PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsychINFO. It will search all of them.
American Chaplains Association
"The American Chaplains Association is a national organization of multi-faceted chaplains offering membership, Chaplin Certification Program, events and educational programs. We are a non-profit organization which meets both in person and online monthly. ACA’s national convention is held annually in Atlanta, Ga."
Military Chaplains Association
"The Military Chaplains Association of the United States of America is a professional support and Veterans Service Organization. We are dedicated to the religious freedom and spiritual welfare of our Armed Services members, Veterans, their families, and their survivors. We were founded in 1925 and chartered in 1950 by the 81st Congress. We are recognized by the Internal Revenue Service with non-profit, tax exempt 501(c)(3) status."
Center for Deployment Pscyhology
"The Center for Deployment Psychology (CDP) trains military and civilian behavioral health professionals to provide high-quality, culturally-sensitive, evidence-based behavioral health services to military personnel, Veterans and their families."
Journal of Health Care Chaplaincy
"This journal publishes peer-reviewed, scholarly articles based on original research, quality assurance/improvement studies, descriptions of programs and interventions, program/intervention evaluations, and literature reviews on topics pertinent to pastoral/spiritual care, clinical pastoral education, chaplaincy, and spirituality in relation to physical and mental health. Examples of topics that might be found include: clinical pastoral education, development of new spiritual care practices, patient assessment, evaluation of chaplain interventions, pastoral/spiritual care outcomes, application of new healthcare regulations to chaplains, standards of practice, spiritual support for persons with different diseases and health problems, reviews of relevant findings from various healthcare and scientific fields. The journal is an excellent resource for chaplains, psychologists; physicians, nurses, and other health-care researchers and clinicians."
DTL Coverage: (1997-present)
Journal of Religion and Health
"Journal of Religion and Health is an international publication concerned with the creative partnership of psychology and religion/sprituality and the relationship between religion/spirituality and both mental and physical health.
Founded in 1961 by the Blanton-Peale Institute, which joins the perspectives of psychology and religion, Journal of Religion and Health explores the most contemporary modes of religious thought with particular emphasis on their relevance to current medical and psychological research. Using an eclectic approach to the study of human values, health, and emotional welfare, this journal provides a scholarly forum for the discussion of topical themes on both a theoretical and practical level."
DTL coverage: Mar 1997 (Vol. 36, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Reflective Practice: Formation and Supervision in Ministry
"Expand your theory and practice in spiritual direction, CPE Supervision, pastoral counseling, and theological field education by reading our annual journal, Reflective Practice: Formation and Supervision in Ministry. Our annual journal contains information from Spiritual Directors, CPE Supervisors, Pastoral Counselors, and Theological Field Education Directors. Our goal is to enrich and expand our understanding and practice of supervision and training in ministry by including new participants and perspectives in our critical reflection on this work."
Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling
"The Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling advances theory and professional practice through scholarly and reflective literature on pastoral and spiritual care, counseling, psychotherapy, education, and research."
A Handbook of Chaplaincy Studies: Understanding Spiritual Care in Public Places by
"A Handbook of Chaplaincy Studies explores fundamental issues and critical questions in chaplaincy, spanning key areas of health care, the prison service, education and military chaplaincy. Leading authors and practitioners in the field present critical insight into the challenges and opportunities facing those providing professional spiritual care. From young men and women in the military and in custody, to the bedside of those experiencing life’s greatest traumas, this critical examination of the role played by the chaplain offers a fresh and informed understanding about faith and diversity in an increasingly secular society." - Routledge
Understanding Muslim Chaplaincy by
"Understanding Muslim Chaplaincy provides a lens through which to explore critical questions relating to contemporary religion in public life, and the institutionalisation of Islam in particular. Providing a rich description of the personnel, practice, and politics of contemporary Muslim chaplaincy, the authors consider the extent to which Muslim chaplaincy might be distinctive in Britain relative to the work of Muslim chaplains in the USA and other countries. This book will make a major contribution to international debate about the place of religion in public life and institutions. " - Routledge
The Arts of Contemplative Care: Pioneering Voices in Buddhist Chaplaincy and Pastoral Work by
"Powerful and life-affirming, this watershed volume brings together the voices of pioneers in the field of contemplative care--from hospice and hospitals to colleges, prisons, and the military. Illustrating the day-to-day words and actions of pastoral workers, each first-person essay in this collection offers a distillation of the wisdom gained over years of compassionate experience. The stories told here are sure to inspire--whether you are a professional caregiver or simply feel inclined toward guiding, healing, and comforting roles. If you are inspired to read this book, or even one touching story in it, you just might find yourself inspired to change a life." - Wisdom Publications
The Chaplain-Physician Relationship by
"Learn how to establish and maintain effective relationships with physicians with this authoritative new book. Chaplains will discover a wealth of information and insight into the often strained chaplain-physician relationship and will learn practical steps they can take to strengthen the ties between two very different professions. Each chapter, written by a chaplain with a history of successful collaboration with physicians, features important examples of interdisciplinary cooperative effort in various settings including obstetrics, geriatrics, and outpatient cardiac rehabilitation centers. Hospital chaplains, especially those who wish to improve their relationships with physicians and hospital administrators will find this to be an invaluable book, as will pastoral counselors not presently involved with hospitals who desire to work with physicians in health and illness settings." - Routledge
Military Chaplains in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Beyond by
"The role of military chaplains has changed over the past decade as Western militaries have deployed to highly religious environments such as East Africa, Afghanistan, and Iraq. U.S. military chaplains, who are by definition non-combatants, have been called upon by their war-fighting commanders to take on new roles beyond providing religious services to the troops. Chaplains are now also required to engage the local citizenry and provide their commanders with assessments of the religious and cultural landscape outside the base and reach out to local civilian clerics in hostile territory in pursuit of peace and understanding. In this edited volume, practitioners and scholars chronicle the changes that have happened in the field in the twenty-first century. Using concrete examples, this volume takes a critical look at the rapidly changing role of the military chaplain, and raises issues critical to U.S. foreign and national security policy and diplomacy." - Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Military Chaplains and Religious Diversity by
"Based on extensive in-depth interviews with more than thirty active duty chaplains regarding their successes, failures and conflicts, the book is about the way military chaplains handle religious diversity among the enlisted they serve and within their own corps."
Killing from the Inside out: Moral Injury and Just War by
"In every major war since Korea, more of our veterans have taken their lives than have lost them in combat. The latest research, rooted in veteran testimony, reveals that the most severe and intractable PTSD-fraught with shame, despair, and suicide-stems from "moral injury" But how can there be rampant moral injury in what our military, our government, our churches, and most everyone else call just wars? At the root of our incomprehension lies just war theory-developed, expanded, and updated across the centuries to accommodate the evolution of warfare, its weaponry, its scale, and its victims. Any serious critique of war, as well any true attempt to understand the profound, invisible wounds it inflicts, will be undermined from the outset by the unthinking and all-but-universal acceptance of just war doctrine. Killing from the Inside Out radically questions that theory, examines its legacy, and challenges us to look beyond it, beyond just war." - Cascade Books
Afterwar: Healing the Moral Wounds of Our Soldiers by
"Trained in both ancient ethics and psychoanalysis, and with twenty years of experience working with the military, Sherman draws on in-depth interviews with servicemen and women to paint a richly textured and compassionate picture of the moral and psychological aftermath of America's longest wars. She explores how veterans can go about reawakening their feelings without becoming re-traumatized; how they can replace resentment with trust; and the changes that need to be made in order for this to happen-by military courts, VA hospitals, and the civilians who have been shielded from the heaviest burdens of war. 2.6 million soldiers are currently returning home from war, the greatest number since Vietnam. Facing an increase in suicides and post-traumatic stress, the military has embraced measures such as resilience training and positive psychology to heal mind as well as body. Sherman argues that some psychological wounds of war need a kind of healing through moral understanding that is the special province of philosophical engagement and listening." - OUP
Adaptive Disclosure: A New Treatment for Military Trauma, Loss, and Moral Injury by
"A complete guide to an innovative, research-based brief treatment specifically developed for service members and veterans, this book combines clinical wisdom and in-depth knowledge of military culture. Adaptive disclosure is designed to help those struggling in the aftermath of traumatic war-zone experiences, including life threat, traumatic loss, and moral injury, the violation of closely held beliefs or codes. Detailed guidelines are provided for assessing clients and delivering individualized interventions that integrate emotion-focused experiential strategies with elements of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT)" - Guilford Publications
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions