Asian Languages: Home
Asian Languages: Welcome
This LibGuide is designed to help students discover our Chinese and Korean language databases. Below is a list of the databases to which patrons of DTL have access as well as Electronic Reserves resources available in various languages.
Korean Resources
- Korean Books Available through E-ReservesThis is a list of commonly used Korean books that are available to patrons of the DTL through Electronic Reserves. This list will continue to grow as the DTL acquires more and more Korean books.
- North American Nurimedia Collection: DBpiaTHIS LINK PROVIDES A DETAILED GUIDE ON HOW TO USE THIS DATABASE
Provides full text databases including more than one million articles from about 2,000 Korean scholarly journals in 12 different fields of society, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. All the back issues of each journal title are available and title, author, keyword, journal title and publisher searchable. - North American Nurimedia Collection: KRpiaProvides broad coverage of primary resources on Korean Studies. Currently 127 full-text databases are available
- KCI (Korean Citation Index) This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes various journals but has a large number of open access journals that can be accessed and searched.
- Korean Film Archive This link opens in a new windowThis YouTube channel provides free access to Korean films from the 1930s onward.
- Korean History Database This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive full-text database from the National Institute of Korean History with a wealth of resources.
- Korean Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowThis database, provided by the National Library of Korea, provides full-text access to old and rare newspapers published before 1950.
- LTI Korea (Literature Translation Institute of Korea) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to translated Korean literature, both classic and modern.
- National Digital Library of Korea This link opens in a new windowThis database provides open access to digitized copyright free monographs. The database has a range of subjects but for the purposes of the DTL it has a strong humanities collection of early printed books, maps, foreign publications from around 1894-1945.
- OAK (Open Access Korea) This link opens in a new windowThis is government funded database whose major contributors of content are the major academic institutions of Korea.
- UCLA Online Archive of Korean Christianity This link opens in a new windowThis is a virtual archive of Korean Christianity for scholars and students of Korean Christianity. It provides access to primary sources, especially documents and images of Protestantism in early modern and colonial Korea.
Chinese Resources
- EricData Chinese 高等教育知識庫（中文資料庫） This link opens in a new window身處於二十一世紀知識經濟與數位化的時代，藉此知識庫得以與國際接軌、傳遞浩瀚知識與分享知識，進而探索更具前瞻性的新領域以追求學術的遠見與卓越化。 本知識庫所收錄之文獻資料橫跨兩岸三地，包含台灣及大陸教育類期刊，極具參考和研究價值；簡繁體共容，並能同步對轉，兩岸文獻皆可輕鬆查閱，並存於網頁。
- Chinese Christianity OnlineThe curated database contains items related to Chinese Christianity. The content is English and Chinese.
- Chinese Texts ProjectThe Chinese Text Project (CTP) provides searchable ancient Chinese texts in the original and English translation. The CTP’s work centers around the digital humanities applied to the languages and literature of pre-modern China.
Users can browse texts by religious tradition (e.g., Confucianism), type (e.g., Histories), or time period (e.g., Pre-Qin and Han, and Post-Han). Features include an integrated dictionary, which provides a detailed critical apparatus. Users can follow links to see quoted text in context, search the site for all occurrences of a term, or see lists of equivalent usages. The Published Resources Database includes bibliographies of scholarship and publications associated with each text or class of texts.
- Taiwan National Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowThis database contains dissertations completed in Taiwan. The content is open access and downloadable. Most of the content is in Chinese.
- airitiLibrary 華藝線上圖書館 This link opens in a new window華藝﹝airiti﹞成立於西元2000年，以藝術資料庫為主軸，之後跨足於學術領域，陸續建構期刊、論文、電子書等資料庫產品；秉持「創新華文知識服務」的精神，期許成為華文知識的領航員，目前已成為台灣首次且唯一躋身國際資料庫的專業平台。由於在網路世界中，知識研究進步快速。華藝追隨全球化的腳步也不斷地創新，無止境的追求最新、最好、最專業的服務模式。
Airiti Inc. was founded in 2000 primarily to provide digital art database services. Afterward, it expanded into academic databases, developing academic journal, doctoral dissertation and e-book database products. Airiti aims to foster global recognition and growth of Chinese knowledge by providing innovative Chinese knowledge service. It is currently Taiwan's foremost professional platform for international-ranking databases. In line with the rapid advances taking place in knowledge research throughout the networked world, Airiti continues to innovate at a global pace in a never-ending quest for the newest, finest and most professional service models.