Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Islamic Studies: Welcome
This LibGuide was created to provide resources for students of Islamic Studies. Throughout this guide you will find links to databases, digital collections and recommended books.
Databases & Online Resources
This is your "go-to" site when attempting to find journal articles on specific topics
Similar to JSTOR in that it provides access to journal articles on various topics. This has access to some journals not available through JSTOR.
"ALTAFSIR.COM is a completely free, non-profit website providing access to the largest and greatest online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation, recitation and essential resources in the world."
Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon
This website provides free online access to Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon. It allows users to browse through scans of the entire lexicon and also provides easy navigation and zoom functions.
MENALIB: The Middle East Virtual Library
MENALIB seeks to provide: Information about ongoing projects, conferences, digital humanities projects in relation to the Middle East and Islamic studies; access to catalogues with rich collections in the fields of Oriental studies; specialised tutorials and assistance for using our rich collections; new Acquisitions in the fields of Islamic and Area Studies as well as MENA Linguistics; access to Open Access Publications; access to MENAdoc Open Access Self-Publishing.
The Quranic Arabic Corpus
"The Quranic Arabic Corpus [is] an annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology."
American Journal of Islamic Social Sciences
AJISS, established in 1984, is a quarterly, double blind peer-reviewed and interdisciplinary journal, published by the International Institute of Islamic Thought (IIIT), and distributed worldwide. The journal showcases a wide variety of scholarly research on all facets of Islam and the Muslim world including subjects such as anthropology, history, philosophy and metaphysics, politics, psychology, religious law, and traditional Islam.
The Arab Studies Journal
Arab Studies Journal is a peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary research publication in the field of Arab and Middle East Studies. Submissions are evaluated on their scholarly probity not on their theses.
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
The British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies is a refereed academic journal published for the British Society for Middle Eastern Studies (popularly known as BRISMES). The editors aim to maintain a balance in the Journal's coverage between the modern social sciences and the more traditional disciplines associated with Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies.
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life focuses on topical issues and takes an interdisciplinary approach that benefits from a cross-cultural perspective: articles will explore the relationship between Islam and its contemporary cultural, material, gender, economic, political, and religious expressions from different socio-scientific perspectives, such as anthropology, sociology, education, politics, international relations, ethnomusicology, arts, film studies, economics, human rights, international law, diaspora minority studies, demography, and ethics.
" Der Islam provides a forum for the study of the history and culture of the Middle East before the age of modernisation in the 19th century, from the Iberian Peninsula to Central Asia. Articles present the latest research in the humanities and social sciences based on literary traditions, and archival, material, as well as archaeological evidence." DTL coverage: 2004 (Vol. 81, no. 1) - 2013 (Vol. 90, no. 1)
Die Welt des Islam
" Die Welt des Islams focuses on the history and culture of the people of Islam from the end of the eighteenth century until present times. Special attention is given to literature from this period. Over the last 40 years, Die Welt des Islams has established itself as a journal unrivalled by any other in its field. Its presence in both the major research libraries of the world and in the private libraries of professors, scholars and students shows this journal to be an easy way of staying on top of your discipline. Boasting a large international circulation, Die Welt des Islams takes care to supply its readers with articles in English, French and German. Detailed notes add to already highly descriptive articles. Extensive reviews of relevant books are written by specialists, giving a broader look into the field of Islam." The DTL coverage: 1913-2012 (Bd. 1, Issue 1 - Vol. 52, Issue 3/4) with a 5 year moving wall.
International Journal of Islamic Thought
"The INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ISLAMIC THOUGHT (IJIT) is an internationally refereed online journal) and printed journal jointly published by the International Society of Muslim Philosophers and Theologians (ISOMPT) and the Department of Theology and Philosophy, National University of Malaysia. The mission of IJIT is to encourage scholarly research in Islamic thought. The Journal provides a unique peer-reviewed forum to postgraduate students, scholars, professors, and researchers in various topics within Islamic thought."
International Journal of Middle East Studies
"The International Journal of Middle East Studies publishes original research on politics, society and culture in the Middle East from the seventh century to the present day. The journal also covers Spain, south-east Europe, and parts of Africa, South Asia, and the former Soviet Union for subjects of relevance to Middle Eastern civilization. Particular attention is paid to the history, politics, economics, anthropology, sociology, literature, and cultural studies of the area and to comparative religion, theology, law, and philosophy." DTL coverage: 1970-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 44, No. 4). For issues from 2012-2016 click HERE
International Studies Quarterly
International Studies Quarterly (ISQ) is the flagship journal of the International Studies Association. It seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies
"Islamic Africa is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary, academic journal published by Northwestern University Press in collaboration with the Institute for the Study of Islamic Thought in Africa (ISITA), based at Northwestern University, Evanston. The journal incorporates Sudanic Africa, retaining its focus on historical sources, bibliographies, and methodologies. Islamic Africa promotes interaction between scholars of Islam and Africa across all continents and across historical periods. We welcome papers on any aspect of Islam and Muslim life pertaining to Africa and/or Africans from the humanities and the social sciences, especially those originating from the African continent." DTL coverage: 2010-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 5, No. 2
"Publishes research articles, notes, comments, review-articles and book-reviews in all disciplines of Islamic Studies including the Qur’an, Hadith, Tafsir, Sirah, ‘Ilm al-Kalam, Jurisprudence, Fiqh, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, Sociology, Culture, Civilization, Economics, Language, Literature, History, Science and Technology. Its contributors include some of the very best scholars from across the world." DTL coverage: 1962-2013 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 52, No. 3/4) with a 2 year moving wall.
Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
"The Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies (JAIS) is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, academic journal. It is also the world's most widely read journal in the field of Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies. The main aim of the journal is to promote the study of history, language, literature and culture through the publication of research articles."
Journal of Islamic Ethics
The focus of Journal of Islamic Ethics is on the ethical approaches embedded in Islamic philosophy, theology, mysticism and jurisprudence as well as Islamic civilization in general, and, more particularly, on the principles and methods (to be) followed in applying these approaches to various sectors of contemporary social life. These fields include: Arts, Environment, Economics, Education, Gender, Media, Medicine, Migration & Human Rights, Politics and Psychology. The Journal will strongly focus on thematic issues on current events as well as on individual empirical case studies.
Journal of Islamic Studies
"The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research. The Journal seeks to place Islam and the Islamic tradition as its central focus of academic inquiry and to encourage comprehensive consideration of its many facets; to provide a forum for the study of Islam and Muslim societies in their global context; to encourage interdisciplinary studies of the Islamic world that are crossnational and comparative; to promote the diffusion, exchange and discussion of research findings; and to encourage interaction among academics from various traditions of learning." - OUP
Journal of Qur'anic Studies
"The Journal of Qur'anic Studies ... aims to encourage and promote the study of the Qur’an from a wide range of scholarly perspectives, reflecting the diversity of approaches characteristic of this field of scholarship. In addition, JQS publishes articles both in English and Arabic, to encourage the bridging of the gap between the two traditions of Muslim and Western scholarship." For articles before 2005 click HERE
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient
The Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient contains studies furthering our knowledge of the economic and social history of the Ancient Near East, the World of Islam, and South, Southeast, and East Asia by economic and social historians, historians of law and administration, philologists, ethnographers, anthropologists, archaeologists, theoretical sociologists, and other social scientists.
The Middle Eastern Quarterly
"Since its founding in 1994, the Middle East Quarterly has become America's most authoritative journal of Middle Eastern affairs. Policymakers, opinion-makers, academics, and journalists turn first to the Quarterly, for in-depth analysis of the rapidly-changing landscape of the world's most volatile region. The Quarterly publishes groundbreaking studies, exclusive interviews, insightful commentary, and hard-hitting reviews that tackle the entire range of contemporary concerns — from politics to economics to culture, across a region that stretches from Morocco to Afghanistan."
The Muslim World Journal
The Muslim World, founded in 1911, is dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of scholarly research on Islam and Muslim societies and on historical and current aspects of Muslim-Christian relations.
Oriens contains studies in the culture of Asia and North Africa from antiquity to the present, focusing on language, religion and art.
"Studia Islamica is one of the oldest academic journals published in the field of Islamic studies. Published in Paris since 1953, it has been co-edited by A. L. Udovitch and Houari Touati since 2003. Focusing on the Islamic lands around the Mediterranean Sea and in south-west Asia, it publishes articles (in English and French) in the fields of history, religion, law, literature and language, for both the pre-modern and modern periods." The DTL coverage: 1953-2014 (No. 1 - Vol. 109, No. 2) with a 3 year moving wall.
Recommended Introductory Resources
The Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought by
“The Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought reflects the variety of trends, voices, and opinions in the contemporary Muslim intellectual scene, it challenges Western misconceptions about the modern Muslim world in general and the Arab world in particular; it consists of 36 important essays written by contemporary Muslim thinkers and scholars; it Covers issues such as Islamic tradition, modernity, globalization, feminism, the West, the USA, reform, and secularism; and it helps readers to situate Islamic intellectual history in the context of Western intellectual trends.” – Wiley-Blackwell
The Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an by
“The Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an is a reader's guide, a true companion for anyone who wishes to read and understand the Qur'an as a text and as a vital piece of Muslim life. It comprises: over 30 original essays by leading scholars; provides exceptionally broad coverage - considering the structure, content and rhetoric of the Qur'an; how Muslims have interpreted the text and how they interact with it; and the Qur'an's place in Islam; features notes, an extensive bibliography, indexes of names, Qur'an citations, topics, and technical terms.” – Wiley-Blackwell
Following Muhammad: Rethinking Islam in the Contemporary World by
"Avoiding the traps of sensational political exposes and specialized scholarly Orientalism, Carl Ernst introduces readers to the profound spiritual resources of Islam while clarifying diversity and debate within the tradition. Framing his argument in terms of religious studies, Ernst describes how Protestant definitions of religion and anti-Muslim prejudice have affected views of Islam in Europe and America. He also covers the contemporary importance of Islam in both its traditional settings and its new locations and provides a context for understanding extremist movements like fundamentalism. He concludes with an overview of critical debates on important contemporary issues such as gender and veiling, state politics, and science and religion." UNC Press
An Introduction to Islam by
"This wide-ranging account of the history and theology of one of the world's most dynamic religions tells the story of Islamic beliefs and practices as they developed from the earliest times down to the present day. For this revised and updated second edition, David Waines has added a long section tackling head-on the issues arising from Islam's place in the changing world order at the turn of the new millennium. The wars in Bosnia, Afghanistan and Israel, and the terrorist attacks on New York and Washington, have raised global awareness of Islam at a superficial level - but little has been written which considers Islamic political and military extremism in relation to mainstream Muslim history and theology. Coming at the end of a book which has explored the ideas and traditions of Islam in depth, this new section offers thought-provoking reflections on the place of religion in the current conflicts." - CUP
Islam: A Worldwide Encyclopedia by
"One of the most popular and widespread religions in the world, Islam has attracted a great deal of attention in recent times, particularly in the Western world. With the ongoing tensions in the Middle East and a pervasive sense of hostility toward Arab Americans, there is ever increasing need to examine and understand Islam as a religion and historical force. Islam: A Worldwide Encyclopedia provides some 700 entries on Islam written by expert contributors that cover the religion from the birth of Islam to the present time. The set also includes 16 pages of color images per volume that serve to illustrate the diverse expressions of this important religious tradition. Each entry begins with a basic introduction, followed by a general discussion of the subject and a conclusion. Each entry also features a further readings list for readers. In addition to supplying a comprehensive, authoritative overview of Islam, this work also specifically addresses many controversial related issues, including jihad, violence in Islam, polygamy, and apostasy." - ABC-CLIO
Islam: Faith and History by
"Professor Ayoub of Temple University, Pennsylvania, is one of the best known scholars of Islam in America today. He firmly believes that it is important to learn about Islam, its history, beliefs, and practices from believing Muslims. In this book, he combines his objective scholarship with the insights of an insider, to present a unique introduction to Islam as a living religion. From the starting point of his own spiritual journey, Ayoub explores all aspects of Islam: from its origins to the modern-day challenges of the world; from the Qur'an and Islamic law to the epic poetry of the Sufis; and from the spread of Islam worldwide to the present role of Islam in the US and Europe. A unique blend of personal understanding and scholarly endeavour, this digestible account will enable the reader to gain an insider's perspective on Islam and experience its significance from within." - Oneworld
The New Cambridge History of Islam
"The New Cambridge History of Islam offers a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today and focusing on the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world." - Cambridge University Press
A New Introduction to Islam by
"Covering the origins, key features, and legacy of the Islamic tradition, the third edition of A New Introduction to Islam includes new material on Islam in the 21st century and discussions of the impact of historical ideas, literature, and movements on contemporary trends. Includes updated and rewritten chapters on the Qur'an and hadith literature that covers important new academic research Compares the practice of Islam in different Islamic countries, as well as acknowledging the differences within Islam as practiced in Europe Features study questions for each chapter and more illustrative material, charts, and excerpts from primary sources" - Wiley
No God but God: The Origins and Evolution of Islam by
"Though it is the fastest growing religion in the world, Islam remains shrouded by ignorance and fear. What is the essence of this ancient faith? Is it a religion of peace or war? How does Allah differ from the God of Jews and Christians? Can an Islamic state be founded on democratic values such as pluralism and human rights? A writer and scholar of comparative religions, Reza Aslan has earned international acclaim for the passion and clarity he has brought to these questions. In No god but God, challenging the “clash of civilizations” mentality that has distorted our view of Islam, Aslan explains this critical faith in all its complexity, beauty, and compassion." - Publisher
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions