Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wesleyan/Methodist Studies: Welcome
The purpose of this brief LibGuide is to provide students with access to important databases, journals, reference works, and monographs dealing with John and Charles Wesley and Methodism.
As with all LibGuides, this provides links to some of the many resources made available through the DTL. In order to access all of our resources, please use the search bar above.
Bridwell Library Digital Collections
"Bridwell Library Digital Collections are drawn from the extensive print and manuscript holdings of Special Collections and Archives. The department’s collections focus on incunabula, Bibles, the Reformation and Counter-Reformation, devotional literature, church history, theology, popular devotion and popular piety, Wesleyana and Methodistica. The Archives contain papers and images documenting the history of Perkins School of Theology, Bridwell Library, and United Methodism."
Citing Wesley Style Sheet
A short guide for helping students cite works by John Wesley
The Duke Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition Research Resources
This is the research site dedicated to the study of Wesleyanism and offers a vast number of important resources made available both through the Frank Baker Collection and the Baker Methodist Research Center in the Divinity School Library as well as various other institutions and centers including: bibliographical guides, Indexes to Wesley Poetry and Hymn Collections, the Register of Charles Wesley’s Preaching, and many others.
Wesley Center Online
The Wesley Center Online website is a collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan tradition, theology, Christianity, and the Church of the Nazarene. It provides online access to many of John and Charles' works.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library: John Wesley
This provides access to John Wesley's Journal, Collection of Hymns, Plain Account of Christian Perfection, his poetry, his sermons, and his notes on the Bible.
A Christian Library by John Wesley
Among his many writings, John Wesley edited and abridged a number of devotional classics and republished them in what he called A Christian Library. These "Extracts from and Abridgments of the Choicest Pieces of Practical Divinity Which Have Been Published in the English Tongue," as Wesley subtitled them, were first published in 50 volumes in 1750. The present digital collection was scanned from the 1821 edition of these classics, published in 30 volumes.
The Asbury Journal
The Asbury Journal publishes scholarly essays and book reviews written from a Wesleyan perspective. The Journal's authors and audience reflect the global reality of the Christian church, the holistic nature of Wesleyan thought, and the importance of both theory and practice in addressing the current issues of the day. Authors include Wesleyan scholars, scholars of Wesleyanism/Methodism, and scholars writing on issues of theological and theological education importance.
Didache: Faithful Teaching
By way of introduction, Didache: Faithful Teaching, is an interdisciplinary academic journal offered on-line that explores the intersections of Christian conviction, culture and education for the Church of the Nazarene and other international Wesleyan communities in higher education. The publication serves to foster a conversation among our diverse international communities of higher learning, each seeking to educate in various academic disciplines but all guided by Christian conviction shaped through a Wesleyan heritage.
Holiness: The Journal of the Wesley House Cambridge
HOLINESS is an open access online journal carrying peer-reviewed articles with the intent ofinviting ecumenical dialogue on what holy living means in the contemporary world, encouraging scholarly debate on questions of importance to those of Methodist/Wesleyan tradition around the world, and providing a forum for cross-cultural and creative theological engagement with the Wesleyan corpus in worship and study.
Methodist History Journal
This is the official publication of the General Commission on Archives and History of The United Methodist Church. A peer-reviewed journal dealing with Methodist history around the world.
An open access, peer-reviewed electronic journal which publishes scholarly articles in all areas and eras of Wesleyan and Methodist studies.
A journal of theological resources for ministry published jointly by the United Methodist General Board of Higher Education and Ministry and The United Methodist Publishing House from 1980-2005.
Wesley and Methodist studies
publishes peer-reviewed articles that examine the life and work of John and Charles Wesley, their contemporaries (proponents or opponents) in the 18th century Evangelical Revival, their historical and theological antecedents, their successors in the Wesleyan tradition, and studies of the Wesleyan and Evangelical traditions today.
The DTL has full access but publisher has set a 3 year moving wall embargo
Reference Works & Monographs
The Ashgate Research Companion to World Methodism by
"Leading scholars examine a range of themes including: the origins and genesis of Methodism; the role and significance of John Wesley; Methodism’s emergence within the international and transatlantic evangelical revival of the Eighteenth-Century; the evolution and growth of Methodism as a separate denomination in Britain; its expansion and influence in the early years of the United States of America; Methodists’ roles in a range of philanthropic and social movements including the abolition of slavery, education and temperance; the character of Methodism as both conservative and radical; its growth in other cultures and societies; the role of women as leaders in Methodism, both acknowledged and resisted; the worldwide spread of Methodism and its enculturation in America, Asia and Africa; the development of distinctive Methodist theologies in the last three centuries; its role as a progenitor of the Holiness and Pentecostal movements, and the engagement of Methodists with other denominations and faiths across the world." - Routledge
The A to Z of the Holiness Movement by
"The A to Z of the Holiness Movement relates important new developments in the Holiness Movement―such as the widely discussed "Holiness Manifesto"―are thoroughly discussed, and the content has also been expanded to include information on figures from Asia and Africa to reflect the continued growth of the Holiness Movement. With a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries, this reference has information that cannot be found elsewhere." - Scarecrow Press
The Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church 2016
"The product of over 200 years of General Conferences of the denominations that form The United Methodist Church, the Discipline is the current statement of how United Methodists agree to live together. It acknowledges the past and addresses the future. Updated through the actions of the 2016 General Conference, the new Discipline includes a complete listing of bishops from Thomas Coke and Francis Asbury through the 2016 episcopal elections as well as a revised historical statement, an expanded index, and six parts: The Constitution General Book of Discipline Doctrinal Standards and Our Theological Task The Ministry of All Christians Social Principles Organization and Administration."
Book of Resolutions of the United Methodist Church 2016
"The volume containing the text of all resolutions or pronouncements on issues approved by the General Conference and currently valid. The Book of Resolutions contains not only the resolutions and policy statements passed by the most recent General Conference, but also all such statements still considered to represent the position of The United Methodist Church. The text of any resolution is considered the official position of the denomination on that subject."
The Cambridge Companion to American Methodism by
"A product of trans-Atlantic revivalism and awakening, Methodism initially took root in America in the eighteenth century. In the mid-nineteenth century, Methodism exploded to become the largest religious body in the United States and the quintessential form of American religion. This Cambridge Companion offers a general, comprehensive introduction to various forms of American Methodism, including the African-American, German Evangelical Pietist, holiness, and Methodist Episcopal traditions. Written from various disciplinary perspectives, including history, literature, theology, and religious studies, this volume explores the beliefs and practices around which the lives of American Methodist churches have revolved, as well as the many ways in which Methodism has both adapted to and shaped American culture." - CUP
The Cambridge Companion to John Wesley by
"A leading figure in the Evangelical Revival in eighteenth-century England, John Wesley (1703-1791) is the founding father of Methodism and, by extension, of the holiness and Pentecostal movements. This Cambridge Companion offers a general, comprehensive introduction to Wesley's life and work, and to his theological and ecclesiastical legacy. Written from various disciplinary perspectives, including history, literature, theology, and religious studies, this volume will be an invaluable aid to scholars and students, including those encountering the work and thought of Wesley for the first time." - CUP
Historical Dictionary of Methodism by
"Covering the activities of this group that plays an important role in the ecumenical movement through its many social and charitable activities in world affairs, this book offers more than 400 entries that describe important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions. It also includes: a list of commonly used acronyms, chronology of historical events, introductory essay on the history of Methodism, 15-page black-and-white photo spread, bibliography, listing of important libraries and depositories of Methodist materials. The impressive list of contributors includes more than 60 specialists who are academics, administrators, pastors, and theologians." - Scarecrow Press
The Oxford Handbook of Methodist Studies by
"Provides an overview of the best current scholarship in the field by building on the foundation laid by Frank Baker, Albert Outler, and other pioneers of the discipline. With the decision to provide a scholarly edition of the Works of John Wesley in the 1950s, Methodist Studies emerged as a fresh academic venture. The forty-two included essays are representative of the voices of a new generation of international scholars, summarising and expanding on topical research, and considering where their work may lead Methodist Studies in the future. " - OUP
The Sermons of Charles Wesley by
"Charles Wesley was a man with real hymnographic genius, and not surprisingly it is chiefly for his poetic legacy that he is remembered. However, he was much more than just a hymn‐writer, and along with his brother John, played a huge part in the birth and early growth of Methodism. To enable him to be assessed at his proper worth, major scholarship is required to bring all his prose works before a wider audience. Only twenty‐three sermons survive of the thousands he preached in his long life as a travelling evangelist, and as a more settled preacher. This volume collects together all these sermons, and presents a detailed text‐critical reading of them, with notes and indexes—including an index of the scripture quotations and allusions with which Wesley's work was totally saturated." - OUP
T&T Clark Companion to Methodism by
"This volume is a handbook on Methodism containing an introduction, dictionary of key terms, and concentrates on key themes, methodology and research problems for those interested in studying the origins and development of the history and theology of world Methodism. The literature describing the history and development of Methodism has been growing as scholars and general readers have become aware of its importance as a world church with approximately 40 million members in 300 Methodist denominations in 140 nations. The tercentenary celebrations of the births of its founders, John and Charles Wesley, in 2003 and 2007 provided an additional focus on the evolution of the movement which became a church."
United Methodist Studies: Basic Bibliographies by
Comprehensive lists of basic texts and general resources; texts on history, doctrine and polity; periodicals and media; and a list of vendors for the United Methodist Church. By Christopher J. Anderson, Drew University Library
Wesley and the People Called Methodists by
This second edition of Richard P. Heitzenrater's groundbreaking survey of the Wesleyan movement is the story of the many people who contributed to the theology, organization, and mission of Methodism. This updated version addresses recent research from the past twenty years; includes an extensive bibliography; and fleshes out such topics as the means of grace;
A Wesley Bibliography by
An up-to-date bibliography of primary and secondary literature on all aspects of Weslyan studies. This is a link to the 4th edition published in 2015.
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions