Skip to Main Content
Ancient Greek, Koine Greek in particular, is an essential language for any student of the New Testament. This is the language of the New Testament and many important works of the 2nd and 3rd centuries CE. This guide is intended to help students in the grueling process of the acquisition of the language and provide tools to better utilize this skill.
Advances in the Study of Greek: New Insights for Reading the New Testament by
"Advances in the Study of Greek offers an introduction to issues of interest in the current world of Greek scholarship. Those within Greek scholarship will welcome this book as a tool that puts students, pastors, professors, and commentators firmly in touch with what is going on in Greek studies. Those outside Greek scholarship will warmly receive Advances in the Study of Greek as a resource to get themselves up to speed in Greek studies. Free of technical linguistic jargon, the scholarship contained within is highly accessible to outsiders. Advances in the Study of Greek provides an accessible introduction for students, pastors, professors, and commentators to understand the current issues of interest in this period of paradigm shift." - Zondervan
Ancient Greek Grammar for the Study of the New Testament by
"The Ancient Greek Grammar for the Study of the New Testament is a tool for theologians and others interested in interpreting the Greek New Testament. It is a reference grammar that systematically covers all areas relevant to well-founded text interpretation including textgrammar. Combining accuracy with accessibility was one of the main objectives in producing the book. The information it provides is based on the best of traditional and more recent research in the study of Ancient Greek and linguistic communication. Differences between classical and non-classical usage are regularly indicated. The mode of presentation is largely shaped by the needs of prospective users, who are typically unacquainted with the details of linguistic research. Aiming at both a professional quality of content and user-friendly presentation, a tool was produced that aims to be of service to novices and more experienced exegetes alike." - Peter Lang
ATTICA - Intermediate Classical Greek by
"Effective as either a primary or secondary textbook, Attica: Intermediate Classical Greek fills a gap in the available materials by simultaneously providing a much-needed grammar review and an introduction to primary texts that students will be working with in the second and third year of study. Through comprehensive exercises, extensive explanatory notes, and an ancillary website with additional materials, this text gives students the skills they need to become comfortable with advanced second-year literary material." - Yale University Press
Basics of Biblical Greek by
"This expanded workbook is designed with you, the student, in mind and intended for use with the standard-setting Basics of Biblical Greek textbook, now in its third edition. Two optional chapters have been added to the Basics of Biblical Greek Workbook, allowing you to read large chunks of the biblical text and enjoy the fruits of your labor faster than ever before. Each chapter is divided into six sections and includes extensive exercises and significant biblical passages for translation. One of the most helpful and unique features of the workbook remains. You can go through the workbook on one of two tracks: Track 1 follows the workbook (and textbook) in its regular order, while Track 2 is organized so you can learn verbs earlier in the course. Not only is the flexible two-track system even easier to use online, but a workbook answer key is also provided. Many other resources are available, including vocabulary flashcards; video and audio helps; Greek fonts; quizzes for each chapter; fun songs and games; and much, much more." - Zondervan
Basics of Biblical Greek Workbook by
"First published in 1993, Basics of Biblical Greek is the most popular introduction to the field, used in universities and seminaries around the world. Over 250,000 students have learned biblical Greek under its guidance. This significant third edition has been carefully developed in consultation with instructors, students, self-learners, and homeschoolers. Users can now take advantage of the many improvements made to the book's website, www.BillMounce.com, where they will find--for free--an online course that walks students through every chapter, vocabulary flashcards, video and audio helps, Greek fonts, quizzes for each chapter, fun songs and games, and much more. Now in a larger size, with an attractive 2-color design, the third edition adds an element of fun, with encouragement, songs, and more, which appear in the margins. Chapter 35 has been split into two chapters, "half-time review" sections have been added to every chapter, and new exegesis sections are now included. These and other improvements serve to enhance the learning experience and will continue BBG's legacy as the premier introduction to biblical Greek." - Zondervan
A Beginning-Intermediate Grammar of Hellenistic Greek by
"Originally published in three volumes in 1973, Robert Funk's classic Grammar utilizes the insights of modern linguistics in its presentation of the basic features of ancient Greek. Since modern linguistics aims to be descriptive, rather than prescriptive, Funk's Grammar highlights the bread-and-butter features of New Testament Greek, rather than how it deviates from classical Greek. Students who use this Grammar will learn how to read Greek in one year, rather than having to depend on ponies or interlinear editions of the Greek New Testament. Now redesigned and reformatted for ease of use, this single-volume third edition makes Funk's ground-breaking work available once more." - Westar Institute
Charts for Intermediate Greek Grammar and Syntax by
"The premier "cheat sheet" for Greek Syntax and Exegesis. Keyed to the best-selling Going Deeper with New Testament Greek (by Kostenberger, Merkle, and Plummer), this set of folding laminated pages covers all traditional syntactical categories (for example, uses of the genitive, rules about the Greek article, possible translations of the imperfect tense), as well as information about New Testament textual criticism, current summaries on Verbal Aspect debates, and steps on doing Greek word studies. Each syntactical category includes an example from the Greek New Testament (with Greek text quoted) and an accompanying English translation. The specific word or phrase in question is in bold font in both the Greek and English text." - B&H Publishing
Elements of Biblical Exegesis: A Basic Guide for Students and Ministers by
World-renowned scholar Michael Gorman presents a straightforward approach to the complex task of biblical exegesis. This third edition of Gorman's widely used and trusted textbook (over 60,000 copies sold) has been thoroughly updated and revised to reflect developments in the academy and the classroom over the past decade. The new edition explains recent developments in theological interpretation and explores missional and non-Western readings of the biblical text. Adaptable for students in various settings, it includes clear explanations, practical hints, suggested exercises, and sample papers.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics by
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
English Grammar to ACE New Testament Greek by
"f you think that . . . * Aorist is a major artery of the heart * Clause is the surname of the fat guy in the red suit * Syntax is Uncle Sam's slice of alcohol and tobacco sales . . . then you need English Grammar to Ace New Testament Greek. It's designed to help you get a quick brush-up on the English grammar you've either forgotten or never quite learned, in a way that ties directly to your first-year Greek studies. With chapters such as "You Ain't Nothing but a Noun Dog" and "Inflection: Trouble Understanding Yoda You Have, Yes?" this colorful, entertaining book compares elements of English grammar with similar elements in Greek grammar. It can either be used as a one-week intensive study to prepare for Greek grammar, or be readily incorporated into actual Greek studies." - Zondervan
The Essentials of Greek Grammar by
"Designed for intermediate-level students, this textbook presents an outline of the essential forms and syntax of ancient Attic Greek. A perfect supplement to Louise Pratt's Eros at the Banquet, it also stands alone as a useful resource for any student seeking to move beyond the basics of Greek into the exciting experience of reading classical literature in its original language." - Oklahoma University Press
Exegetical Gems from Biblical Greek by
"Learning Greek is a difficult task, and the payoff may not be readily apparent. To demonstrate the insight that knowing Greek grammar can bring, Benjamin Merkle summarizes 35 key Greek grammatical issues and their significance for interpreting the New Testament. This book is perfect for students looking to apply the Greek they have worked so hard to learn as well as for past students who wish to review their Greek." - Baker Academic
Going Deeper with New Testament Greek by
"Designed for those with a basic knowledge of Greek, Going Deeper with New Testament Greek is a user-friendly textbook for intermediate Greek courses at the college or seminary level. In fifteen chapters, students learn Greek grammar and how to interpret the New Testament in a way that is accessible--and even fun. Also included are chapters on the Greek language and textual criticism, verbal aspect, sentence diagramming and discourse analysis, word studies, and continuing with Greek. Unique features include: Practical examples illustrating how knowing the content of a given chapter can guide proper interpretation of Scripture. Practice sentences and vocabulary lists, including all the words that occur fifteen times or more in the New Testament. Selected texts from every New Testament author for students to translate along with detailed reading notes to guide interpretation of each text. Summary charts to help students review material, serving as a handy study guide and quick reference tool." - B&H Academic
Grammar of Septuagint Greek
This is one of the few English grammars focusing exclusively on Septuagint Greek, though dated, this work is still important for students because of some of the unique aspects of this translation of the Hebrew Bible.
A Grammar of the Greek New Testament in the Light of Historical Research by
Though dated, this is a very thorough grammar that focuses specifically on the NT. Unlike most linguistic grammar books, this is organized like a work of prose rather than a standard reference work with section numbers and subsections which can make it more difficult to browse. However, this should not take away from the genius of the work.
The Greek Verb Revisited: A Fresh Approach for Biblical Exegesis by
"New Testament studies have debated the Koine Greek verb for 25 years--reaching an impasse when it came to both tense and aspect. Now, a group of scholars offer a new take on this debate. Originally presented as part of a conference on the Greek verb at Tyndale House, Cambridge, the chapters in The Greek Verb Revisited represent scholarly collaboration from the fields of linguistics, classics, and New Testament studies--resulting in a new perspective that allows the reader to approach the Greek verb in a fresh way. The Greek Verb Revisited not only offers a rare glimpse into the background of the debate over the Greek verb, but also explains the significance of this discussion and provides a linguistically-sound way forward." - Lexham Press
Intermediate Greek Grammar by
"An Accessible, Up-to-Date Intermediate Greek Grammar This intermediate grammar for students of New Testament Greek incorporates the advances of recent linguistic research in an accessible and understandable way. Drawing on years of teaching experience at a leading seminary, the authors help students extend their grasp of Greek for reading and interpreting the New Testament and related writings. They make extensive use of New Testament texts to illustrate each grammatical category. Long enough to provide substantial help yet concise enough for frequent practical use, this book is ideal for intermediate Greek and Greek exegesis classes. It is also a valuable resource for preachers and others." - Baker Academic
An Introduction to Ancient Greek by
"C.A.E. Luschnig's An Introduction to Ancient Greek: A Literary Approach prepares students to read Greek in less than a year by presenting basic traditional grammar without frills and by introducing real Greek written by ancient Greeks, from the first day of study. The second edition retains all the features of the first but is more streamlined, easier on the eyes, more gender-inclusive, and altogether more 21st century." - Hackett Publishing Company
Introduction to Attic Greek by
“Thoroughly revised and expanded, Introduction to Attic Greek, 2nd Edition gives student and instructors the most comprehensive and accessible presentation of ancient Greek available. The text features: Full exposure to the grammar and morphology that students will encounter in actual texts. It has self-contained instructional chapters, with challenging, carefully tailored exercises. There are progressively more complex chapters to build the student's knowledge of declensions, tenses, and constructions by alternating emphasis on morphology and syntax. There are readings based on actual texts and include unadapted passages from Xenophon, Lysias, Plato, Aristophanes, and Thucydides. It includes a concise introduction to the history of the Greek language. It has a composite list of verbs with principal parts, and an appendix of all paradigms. It has Greek-English and English-Greek glossaries.” – University of California Press
Learn to Read New Testament Greek by
"An academic staple updated for the first time in fifteen years, David Alan Black's user-friendly introduction to New Testament Greek keeps discussion of grammar as non-technical as possible. The simplified explanations, basic vocabularies, and abundant exercises are designed to prepare the student for subsequent practical courses in exegesis, while the linguistic emphasis lays the groundwork for later courses in grammar. Revisions to this third edition include updated discussions and scholarship, further back matter vocabulary references, and additional appendices" - B&H Academics
New Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin by
...This book is an explanation of the similarities and differences between Greek and Latin morphology and lexicon through an account of their prehistory. It also aims to discuss the principal features of Indo-European linguistics. Greek and Latin are studied as a pair for cultural reasons only; as languages, they have little in common apart from their Indo-European heritage. Thus the only way to treat the historical bases for their development is to begin with Proto-Indo-European. The only way to make a reconstructed language like Proto-Indo-European intelligible and intellectually defensible is to present at least some of the basis for reconstructing its features and, in the process, to discuss reasoning and methodology of reconstruction (including a weighing of alternative reconstructions)." - Oxford University Press
New Testament Greek by
"This book provides a general introduction to the grammar and syntax of Hellenistic, or New Testament, Greek. With twenty-four chapters, it is suitable for two-semester courses. Each lesson is structured around equipping students to read passages drawn directly from the Greek New Testament. In addition to the traditional Erasmian system, students are offered the option of using a historical Greek system of pronunciation similar to that used in early Christian preaching and prayer. The book includes extensive reference tools, including paradigms for memorization, grammatical appendices and illustrations." - CUP
Pre-Greek: Phonology, Morphology, Lexicon by
"Robert Beekes collects and analyzes the evidence for Pre-Greek, the non-Indo-European language which disappeared prehistorically due to a language shift to Greek, but left many traces in the Greek lexicon." - Brill
Prepositions and Theology in the Greek New Testament by
"Prepositions and Theology in the Greek New Testament by Murray Harris is a major reference work that will be welcomed by instructors, students, and pastors working with the Greek New Testament. This work summarizes and demonstrates the numerous places in the Greek New Testament where prepositions contribute significantly to the meaning of the text." - Zondervan
A Reader's Greek New Testament by
"A Reader's Greek New Testament: Third Edition saves time and effort in studying the Greek New Testament. If a Greek word appears in the New Testament fewer than 30 times, then a definition is provided. This serves as an aid when you encounter less common vocabulary, allowing you to focus on reading, comprehension, parsing, and grammatical issues. You no longer have to interrupt your reading, searching through a lexicon! Featuring a handsome Italian Duo-Tone(tm) binding," - Zondervan
Reading Koine Greek by
"This in-depth yet student-friendly introduction to Koine Greek provides a full grounding in Greek grammar, while starting to build skill in the use of exegetical tools. The approach, informed by twenty-five years of classroom teaching, emphasizes reading Greek for comprehension as opposed to merely translating it. The workbook is integrated into the textbook, with exercises appearing within each chapter rather than pushed to the end or located in a separate book. This enables students to practice concepts as they encounter them in the chapter--ideal for distance learning or studying beyond the traditional classroom." - Baker Academic Press
Smyth's Greek Grammar
This is the standard English grammar of the Greek language. It focuses more on Attic Greek but the majority of the grammatical rules are the same for Koine Greek.
A Student Handbook of Greek and English Grammar by
"The study of classical languages by earlier generations of English-speaking students was greatly facilitated by the study of English grammar in the schools, a tradition now out of favor but one that emphasized precisely the concepts, terms, and constructions needed for the study of Greek and Latin. Recent classical language textbooks, while presuming little or no grammatical sophistication on the part of their students, often provide little more by way of remediation than definitions of grammatical terminology. A Student Handbook of Greek and English Grammar offers a student-friendly comparative exposition of English and ancient Greek grammatical principles that will prove a valuable supplement to a wide range of beginning Greek textbooks as well as a handy reference for those continuing on to upper-level courses." - Hackett Publishing Company
Understanding Language: A Guide for Beginning Students of Greek and Latin by
"This is an essential companion to introductory texts on first-year Greek or first-year Latin. As students learn less and less English grammar in primary and secondary education, virtually all foreign-language instructors must supplement their standard introductions. Why not do it with a book that teaches exactly what is needed to understand beginning Greek and Latin grammar, no more and no less? Equally valuable for both languages, with little that is superfluous for either, Fairbairn's book is clear, concise, and motivational. I recommend it enthusiastically."--Craig L. Blomberg
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek by
"The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With an established reputation as the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, it brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond.The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is an invaluable companion for the study of Classics and Ancient Greek, for beginning students and advanced scholars alike." - Brill
The Concise Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by
This is an abridged version of BDAG and for the majority of students this will serve their purposes just as well, if not better because the focus of this abridgment is translation and thus limits the size of the entries considerably. It also focuses only on the NT.
Greek-English Lexicon (The Great Scott)
This is the standard classical Greek lexicon used by classicists. This is not the best lexicon for NT Greek but when translating anything written prior to the NT and the LXX this should be consulted. There are an abridged version of this lexicon referred to as the Middle Liddell which can be found HERE
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by
"A unique approach to the Greek language, the Greek-English Lexicon by Louw-Nida is a great tool for advanced or intermediate Greek studies. Focusing on the contextual aspect of words, Louw-Nida uses categories called “semantic domains” to navigate the dictionary. With sections such as Plants, Animals, Festivals, and Status, words in this lexicon are arranged with like terms to easily distinguish between the similar Greek words in the category. Not meant for single-word studies, the Louw-Nida Lexicon is helpful when studying topics and discovering all the terms the Greek New Testament uses to talk about a given subject. For example, if you are interested in the type of sea creatures mentioned in the Greek New Testament, you can look for the semantic domain: Animals and find a listing for all the “Fishes & Other Sea Creatures” mentioned in the Bible text. With full definitions for words and examples from the New Testament, Louw-Nida Greek Lexicon offers a different perspective to Greek translation."
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
Described as an "invaluable reference work" (Classical Philology) and "a tool indispensable for the study of early Christian literature" (Religious Studies Review) in its previous edition, this new updated American edition of Walter Bauer's Wörterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments builds on its predecessor's staggering deposit of extraordinary erudition relating to Greek literature from all periods. Including entries for many more words, the new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature. In this edition, Frederick W. Danker's broad knowledge of Greco-Roman literature, as well as papyri and epigraphs, provides a more panoramic view of the world of Jesus and the New Testament. Danker has also introduced a more consistent mode of reference citation, and has provided a composite list of abbreviations to facilitate easy access to this wealth of information. Perhaps the single most important lexical innovation of Danker's edition is its inclusion of extended definitions for Greek terms.
A Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect by
"Richard John Cunliffe’s A Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect has remained unmatched wherever English-speaking scholars and students pursue the Homeric epics in the original. As the late author points out, this was the first large assault upon the problem, since most of the works of similar character at the time were of foreign (mostly German) origin." - University of Oklahoma Press
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis (5 Volumes) by
"A standard and widely-used reference work for nearly 40 years, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis has been thoroughly revised and updated to aid today’s pastors, students, scholars, and teachers in their study of the New Testament. Offering a wealth of background and information on the meaning of Greek words in the New Testament―as well as related usage in classical Greek sources, the Septuagint, Jewish literature, and more." - Zondervan
A New Reader's Lexicon of the Greek New Testament by
"'What Kubo did for the last generation, Burer and Miller's A New Reader's Lexicon will do for the next.'-from the foreword by Daniel B. WallaceImproving on earlier lexical works, A New Reader's Lexicon of the Greek New Testament incorporates all words that occur fewer than fifty times in the New Testament. In canonical order, it catalogs a word's frequency in each book,in each author's writings, and in the entire New Testament. References to rare or noteworthy word usages are included, allowing the reader to quickly identify words of special significance.'This lexicon... has overcome the noticeable shortcomings of Kubo and should well serve the person who wants to keep up their Greek by daily reading, but gets frustrated by having to spend so much time looking up words.'-Gordon D. Fee Professor of New Testament Studies Regent College'A New Reader's Lexicon is a step forward for the student of Greek and is sure to be of benefit to those who teach Greek.... The use of A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (BDAG) is a great touch." - Darrell L. Bock
A Patristic Greek Lexicon
This is a specialty Greek lexicon focused on the works after the NT. As a specialty dictionary, it will not have common words in it but words or definitions that are specific to the Patristic corpus.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by
Doing for the Old Testament what Kittel-Friedrich does for the Old, this major, multivolume reference work discusses key Hebrew and Aramaic words in depth. Stressing meaning, each word study moves from narrow, everyday usages toward more significant theological concepts.