Skip to Main Content
Though Latin is not often viewed as an important language for biblical studies it is imperative to know for understanding the Greco-Roman world within which 2nd Temple Judaism and Early Christianity blossomed. It is also critical for understanding the growth of early Christianity from a small movement centered around Jesus to the world power that it would become in Late Antiquity up until the present.
These sources are intended to provide students with the proper resources to better learn and become familiar with the Latin language in order to use it in their personal research and studies.
Gildersleeve's Latin Grammar by
Though this work is over 100 years old many of the principles it espouses are still actively taught in Latin classes. All the basics are here from conjugation and declension formation to the various uses of the different of the noun declensions.
Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar by
"A venerable resource for more than a century, Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar is still regarded by students and teachers as the finest Latin reference grammar available. Concise, comprehensive, and well organized, it is unrivaled in depth and clarity, placing a wealth of advice on usage, vocabulary, diction, composition, and syntax within easy reach of Latin scholars at all levels.
This sourcebook's three-part treatment starts with words and forms, covering parts of speech, declensions, and conjugations. The second part, syntax, explores cases, moods, and tenses. The concluding section offers information on archaic usages, Latin verse, and prose composition, among other subjects. Extensive appendixes feature a glossary of terms and indexes. Students of history, religion, and literature will find lasting value in this modestly priced edition of a classic guide to Latin." - Dover
Understanding Language: A Guide for Beginning Students of Greek and Latin by
"This is an essential companion to introductory texts on first-year Greek or first-year Latin. As students learn less and less English grammar in primary and secondary education, virtually all foreign-language instructors must supplement their standard introductions. Why not do it with a book that teaches exactly what is needed to understand beginning Greek and Latin grammar, no more and no less? Equally valuable for both languages, with little that is superfluous for either, Fairbairn's book is clear, concise, and motivational. I recommend it enthusiastically."--Craig L. Blomberg
Intensive Basic Latin by
"Intensive Basic Latin: A Grammar and Workbook comprises a dynamic reference grammar and related exercises in a single volume. The book presents forty individual grammar points, covering the core material which students would expect to encounter in their first year of learning Latin. Grammar points are followed by contextualised examples and exercises which allow students to reinforce and consolidate their learning. There is a particular emphasis throughout on familiarising students with real, unadulterated Latin and the task of teasing information from the Latin via translations. To this end, there are matching exercises with unedited Latin excerpts and rough English translations in the chapters, encouraging students to take a hands-on approach in their learning. In addition to this, a short reading relating to the adventures of Hercules is presented at the end of almost every chapter; these readings, which become progressively more complex, give the course a strong sense of narrative cohesion and interest and provide students with opportunities to develop their comprehension and translation skills." - Routledge
New Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin by
...This book is an explanation of the similarities and differences between Greek and Latin morphology and lexicon through an account of their prehistory. It also aims to discuss the principal features of Indo-European linguistics. Greek and Latin are studied as a pair for cultural reasons only; as languages, they have little in common apart from their Indo-European heritage. Thus the only way to treat the historical bases for their development is to begin with Proto-Indo-European. The only way to make a reconstructed language like Proto-Indo-European intelligible and intellectually defensible is to present at least some of the basis for reconstructing its features and, in the process, to discuss reasoning and methodology of reconstruction (including a weighing of alternative reconstructions)." - Oxford University Press
Smith's English-Latin Dictionary by
"Smith's English-Latin Dictionary is an invaluable resource for students and teachers who are composing Latin verse and prose. It offers what smaller and less comprehensive dictionaries cannot -- semantic range, depth, and precision. Each entry is composed of an English word, its corresponding Latin equivalents, and examples drawn from a full range of classical writers. The Index of Proper Names contains the Latin forms of names of thousands of persons, places, and geographical features from Greco-Roman history and mythology, as well as the Judeo-Christian Bible."
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin by
"Leo Stelten has put to use his years of experience teaching Latin in compiling this concise reference book. The "Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin" includes approximately 17,000 words with the common meanings of the Latin terms found in church writings. Entries cover Scripture, Canon Law, the Liturgy, Vatican II, the early church fathers, and theological terms. This volume will prove to be an invaluable resource for theological students, as well as for those seeking to improve their knowledge of ecclesiastical Latin. An appendix also provides descriptions of ecclesiastical structures and explains technical terms from ecclesiastical law." - Hendrickson Publishers